[review] Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Life as a cyborg isn’t easy. Sure, it comes with some cool skills, like the ability to detect lies, but it also comes with a lot of problems, like having everyone think that you’re a thing that doesn’t deserve to be alive. But Cinder is used to the dirty looks from her fellow citizens in New Beijing. What she isn’t used to is the very different kind of “dirty” look she gets from the gorgeous and sarcastic Prince Kai…

 

Alright, I’m going to put all of my cards on the table: I’m friends with Marissa Meyer. Also, I’m a beta for the Lunar Chronicles series. Yes, this means I have read an early draft of Scarlet. No, I will give no hints as to what happens. Yes, this makes me completely biased. But you should still believe me when I say that this is a supercalafragalisticexpialadocious book.

Not only is the plot so~ much~ fun~, but Marissa has a way with words that will leave you green with envy. She is not a writer who spits out a draft and then throws it out into the world. She polishes every sentence until it shines like a beacon of hope to all of us. (Too much? I DON’T CARE! YOU NEED TO UNDERSTAND HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS BOOK!)

Then there are the characters! Cinder is completely kick-ass! She has her flaws, but no one would accuse her of being a weak character. (And without giving away anything I can say that kick-ass female characters is kind of a theme you’ll be finding in the Lunar Chronicles.) Kai is swoon-worthy in a wow-I-didn’t-realise-I-had-fallen-in-love-with-this-guy-but-I-totally-have-and-now-no-other-male-character-will-ever-compare kind of way. Also, he is totally and completely MINE.

Speaking of which…

Dear Prince Kai,

I met you back when you were just beginning to be sketched, and I fell for you immediately. I fell for you hard. I have never felt such a connection to a literary crush before. Forget about Cinder, you belong with me. We’d be perfect together! Your sarcastic and I’m sarcastic. You have a strong sense of duty and I have a strong sense of duty. You’re the heir to the throne and I am fully capable of bearing heirs to the throne…

Like I said: perfect for each other.

You can comm me any time and I promise to answer.

XOXO Meghan

Anyway, I read this book with my mom and it was such a great experience! It was hilarious seeing her reactions to things I knew were coming. Her favourite characters were Iko (Cinder’s boy crazy android friend) followed by Peony (Cinder’s nice stepsister). She frequently exclaimed “that bitch!” when her not-so-favourite characters did some not-so-nice things. And we both may have freaked out a little bit during a certain elevator scene.

A final excellent thing about this book is the foreshadowing! Not only for future events in book one, but for stuff in book three and four as well! Gah, is it 2013 yet?!

Books with similar aspects

The Sailor Moon series by Naoko Takeuchi

Just Ella by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

recommended to everyone. Literally everyone. Like fairy tales? It’s for you. Like science fiction? It’s for you. Like great writing? It’s for you.

not recommended to people who dislike enjoying reading.

 Already read and reviewed Cinder (or any of the books I’ve reviewed)? Comment with the link and I’ll quote and link you at the bottom of my review!
No discussion post plan because of my knowledge, but if you guys want to e-mail me your spoilery reactions at i_love_orlijah@hotmail.com I would ADORE hearing them.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to [review] Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. LMAO at this post. My favorite highlights are “You’re the heir to the throne and I am fully capable of bearing heirs to the throne” and “not recommended to people who dislike enjoying reading.” ❤

  2. This review made me smile. Bias or not you are totally right – this book is so much fun 🙂

    I second Jen that my favourite part was “not recommended to people who dislike enjoying reading”

  3. Oh dear. You put Just Ella and Ella Enchanted on the similar books list. Now I’m going to have even MORE trouble restraining myself from buying Cinder! I’m trying to hold out because a friend of mine ordered a copy last week, and I’m hoping to borrow it from her when she’s done. Don’t know if I can wait that long though!

    P.S. And you’re a beta reader for Marissa Meyer?!?! Awesomesauce. 🙂

  4. I think this is the best review of Cinder that I’ve read! I don’t care if you ARE Merissa Meyer – ok; maybe that would be a bit too biased! LOL! But I think this book is so fabulous, and I CANNOT wait for the next one… CANNOT wait. And you’ve just brought back all the giddy emotions of the initial reading of this book!

    -Jac @ For Love and Books

  5. reutreads says:

    Love it! I didn’t think I wanted to read this when it was on NetGalley, but I have literally not seen a single negative review.

  6. Sailor Moon! ❤

    ALSO, I am so jealous that you have read an early draft of Scarlet, I bet it is awesome.

    Cinder was SO GOOD! Dude I did the same 'that bitch' whisper as your mom while reading too. Like, I literally wanted to smack Cinder's stepmom for being such a jerk.

    • megtao says:

      Sailor Moon and Harry Potter are like my MAIN fandoms. I’m going to be Sailor Mercury this year for Halloween! (And I actually met Marissa through the Sailor Moon fandom. I actually got started in the Sailor Moon fandom because of her too…)

      SO AWESOME

      Between Levana, Stepmom, and Pearl, my mom sword quite a bit while I read this book XD

  7. Heidi says:

    It’s okay to be biased towards awesome things! I LOVED this book. My favorite this year, and yes, since reading your confessions I have contemplated elaborate lengths to steal the Scarlet manuscript from you…I wonder what Danny Ocean is doing these days.

  8. Pingback: Featured Fairy Tales: Cinderella « The Grown-Up YA

Leave a Reply

