[review] This Means War

CIA agents FDR (yeah, I don’t know what it stands for either) and Tuck are best friends, but then they meet Lauren, a product testing executive (which is kind of cool). While the boys decide to let Lauren choose between them, Lauren doesn’t even know that they know each other and has to deal with the stress of dating two gorgeous guys.

I went to see this movie with le boyfriend on Valentine’s Day because I figured it’d be a good compromise movie. Romance and Chris Pine for me and spy stuff and Reese Witherspoon for him. Unfortunately, it seemed like they were trying to please too many and ended up pleasing no one. The action scenes had me wincing at the loud noises and violence (because I’m a complete baby when it comes to violence), and he didn’t find any of the jokes funny.

I did, however, appreciate the Chris Pine aspect.

I mean, who wouldn’t?

There were some genuinely cute moments and one incredibly hot moment. Lauren’s best friend is probably my favourite character, and I love how she supports Lauren completely even if her reasoning is a little off. And yeah, it was more than a little predictable, but whatever. I went to the movies to laugh and to have fun and that’s what happened.

If you’re going to see it, see it with your best girl friend. There may be spies, but unless the boy is a fan of romcom, they’re not going to enjoy this movie.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in movie review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [review] This Means War

  1. Anytime I see commercials for this movie and they say FDR, my initial thought is always of FDR, the president. Either that’s the history major in me or the American in me. 8) lol either way, it seriously takes me out of the moment.

  2. CMrok93 says:

    Nice review. All of these leads try their hardest, but the script just lets them down too much with terrible jokes and very ugly feeling underneath this premise. Check out my review when you get the chance.

  3. Candice says:

    I’m 99.9% sure I won’t actually see this until it either comes on Netflix or TV (I’m not a huge fan of romcoms) but the fact that it has Chris Pine in it maaaaay make me want to check it out when it hits our $1 theater. Because who doesn’t love Chris Pine? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’m probably seeing this with a group of girlfriends this week, so here’s hoping we enjoy it! Fingers crossed. I think we’ll all enjoy the cute boys at any rate.

  5. Chris Pine= Hottie! I will take your advice and see it with a friend ๐Ÿ™‚ Or just rent it from redbox when it comes out ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

