Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Was Going To Be Abducted By Aliens

Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Was Going To Be Abducted By Aliens

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

10. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

9. Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix

8. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

If my house is being abducted by aliens, I’m assuming that the world is ending. Not sure how practical it would be to be carrying around a bunch of heavy books (they’d probably end up being used as kindling :O). If I was limiting myself to ten, I would need to grab a couple of the Harry Potter books to give me hope that the dark days do end, and so that no matter who else is with me, I’d still have Harry, Ron, Hermione, Dumbledore, McGonagall, and all the others from Hogwarts with me.

7. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This was the first book I read aloud with my mom. The memories connected to my mother, plus the light fluffiness of Anna/Étienne would help me get through the rough times of an alien abduction.

6. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

I already explained why Harry Potter was on here. Deathly Hallows is higher on the list because it’s got the most hope. I assume I’d be doing a lot of camping too.

5. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

How could I not? I could try to channel some of Lizzie’s strength into my own situation.

4. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

If I ever needed a good cry for a reason other than an alien abduction, TFIOS would fit the bill. Plus, it gives me memories of connections to nerdfighteria AND who knows! If I run across another nerdfighter, a copy of TFIOS might be just what I need to convince them to help me out/let me join their group of rebels.

3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

This is all about memories. Cinder would allow me to remember my U_M girls and that there was a time I was happy before aliens took over the planet. Plus it’s signed so it must be saved!

2. The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

This is the book my boyfriend gave me for my birthday a couple years back. I’d told him whenever you give someone a book you need to write a little message (my mother’s rule), and so he did. That message is what I’d want to save the most. Plus, I might be able to glean a few survival trips from this apocalyptic novel.

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher Stone by J. K. Rowling

Whenever I go to Wizard Rock concerts or other Harry Potter gatherings, this is what I get the wrockers to sign. I had my onee-chan Angel sign it when we saw Deathly Hallows 2 together. It is my physical connection to the Harry Potter fandom and will always bring me comfort and hope for a better world.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Was Going To Be Abducted By Aliens

  1. Candice says:

    I LOVE that you have that special connection to HP #1! That’s such a sweet memory of such an amazing series. It’s always fun and very special to me to see how Harry Potter touches others’ lives. My younger sister and I had a tradition of going to see the movies together so when the final one came out we really did it up – costumes, butterbeer, wands… thanks to HP my sister and I got to create some wonderful memories together. Just as I’m sure you’ve gotten to thanks to it as well!

    Great list BTW!

  2. Briana says:

    This is why someone needs to look into making a single volume of Harry Potter (which would probably need to come with a really powerful magnifying glass!).

  3. I am totally with you on rescuing my Harry Potter series is some natural disaster should befall me. The books were an integral part of my growing up and I can’t imagine not having them with me!

  4. I love your theory about the HP Gang helping to get through the dark times – – I hadn’t thought of it that way! But I love it, and I couldn’t agree more.

    Pride and Prejudice is my next read -it seems that the universe is telling me to read it. Every book I see mentions Mr Darcy, (Seriously? The last five I read!) Every list I see has this book, every movie. It’s just everywhere. So I’m reading it next. LOL!

    -Jac @ For Love and Books
    (Top Ten / Teaser Tuesday)

  5. sanalith says:

    Awww, I LOVE your description for the HP books! They really are life-changers, aren’t they? Out of your list, I’d definitely have Pride and Prejudice and Prisoner of Azkaban on mine. But I agree with the above comment that someone needs to make one HP compilation so we can have them all! 😀

  6. Aww that was so sweet of your boyfriend – I would definitely save the book with a note from my honey too 🙂

  7. I heartily approve of your mom’s rule about signing books with a personal message because MY mom always does that, so now I do to. It just makes everything so special, I think, and it made me remember that I have a copy of Little Women that my mom gave me the Xmas I turned 12, and I FORGOT to put it on my list! But it’s nice to be able to save both a book AND something sentimental and personal at the same time.
    Also, Anna. Obviously. That book is perfection.

    • megtao says:

      When I think about what to save during an apocalypse, the first thing I think about is use and the second is sentimental value. Unfortunately, I don’t have any useful books because I only read non-fiction XD

  8. Yes to the person above me who said that someone needs to make a single volume of Harry Potter! It would be mighty thick, but seriously, it would certainly help my issues in picking just one for a Top Ten Tuesday so that I can include other books.

    This list is made of win and I love that you have so many personal ties to your books. Thanks for sharing them!

  9. I’ve never read any Harry Potter… I think it’s so cute that your boyfriend left a little note in a book he gave you! That’s definitely worth saving

  10. April C says:

    I love reading about how much the Harry Potter books mean to you, and especially about how you have your copy of Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone signed by various people. BUT also how your mom says the rule is to write a little message inside. I for realz need to do that with books that I gift.

Leave a Reply

