[discussion] The Fault in our Stars by John Green

Haven’t read it? Check out my review here!

My favourite part of books is discussing them with other fans. Because I want my reviews to remain spoiler-free as they’re more likely to be read by those who haven’t read the book yet, I’m also planning to post “book discussions,” for many of the books I review.  Obviously, these book discussions will contain spoilers and much flailing. Maybe some intellectual-like discussion…but mostly flailing.

I have to say it: WHY THE HELL DID AUGUSTUS WATERS HAVE TO DIE!!!!!!!!!

I had prepared myself for Hazel to die. I actually expected it and assume she eventually does die young, though John won’t tell us because he claims he doesn’t know, but Augustus?! He was in remission! He was so healthy! JOHN MADE US FALL IN LOVE WITH HIM AND THEN HE RIPPED HIM AWAY.

WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY

Well, that reaction is exactly why. Cancer kills people that wouldn’t have died otherwise. Young people. Strong people. Healthy people. There’s rarely a rhyme or reason to it, and that is what John was showing us. But it doesn’t mean I like it.

The only other thing I really want to mention is the theme of change in TFIOS as shown by Hazel Grace. Hazel was stuck in a kind of limbo at the beginning of the book: she watched reruns of America’s Next Top Model and she continuously reread the same book. But then she meets Augustus Waters and suddenly she’s watching V for Vendetta for the first time and feeling kind of beautiful for the first time and reading a series based on a video game for the first time. Augustus Waters begins the change in Hazel that will continue the entire novel showing that just because we’re all dying doesn’t mean we should ever stop living.

And if there’s anything to take away from the novel, I think it’s that.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book discussion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to [discussion] The Fault in our Stars by John Green

  1. I think the last paragraph there says everything you need to say about this book. God, this book is beautiful. Even if it made me sob like a little girl.

  2. Miss Anderson says:

    Am I awful if I say that I’m glad Augustus Waters died? I started the book thinking, “Okay, this Hazel girl is going to die.” And I wanted John Green to surprise me. And he did! The total unfairness of Augustus’s death coupled with the uncertainty of Hazel’s life beyond the story on the pages is what makes this a memorable book. John Green writes stories that make an impact on your brain, and I love it!

  3. I was expecting Hazel to die as well…gosh. I also thought that since the book, the name escapes me, that Hazel loved ended the way it did (with no ending), I was afraid John Green would do the same thing. I was scared that all of a sudden the story would just end and we wouldn’t know what happened to the characters.

  4. Kate says:

    …you do realize that by posting WHY DID ~MAIN CHARACTER~ HAVE TO DIE!?!?!? in capital letters at the top of the post, with no blank scroll down space or mouse-over black spoiler bars , completely invalidates any short “stuff stuff oh yeah and maybe spoilers” sentences above it, right? It’s not like eyes only read one word at a time starting at the top left corner.

    I don’t mean to sound rude, but damn, it’s just that I hadn’t read it yet… 😦

    • megtao says:

      I’m really sorry I spoiled you, but I do have a cut in my post. If you’re coming from my main page you can’t see the post. Also, if you’re a returning member to my blog then you know that all discussion posts contain spoilers. In fact, that’s kind of an obvious assumption to make: in order to discuss something, you’re going to need to talk about what happens.

      Again, I’m really sorry you were spoiled. I hate spoilers and being spoiled, but I did everything I could to direct those who hadn’t read the novel away from the post. I don’t know how you reached this page, but however you did it was your choice, not mine.

      • Kate says:

        I’m a new reader, heh. I just added you to my routine last week- I like your writing!

        And I see now that for some reason google reader was just ignoring your cut and posting the whole thing. Rats! Sorry for blaming you for their failure.

    • megtao says:

      I just checked out google reader. I wasn’t aware that it didn’t allow cuts. I’ll have to make a post about this or something and figure out something to do about it. I don’t want people to be spoiled, but I’m not sure what else I could. I do post quite a few discussion posts, so all I can recommend for now is following by e-mail rather than by google reader. Thanks for bringing it to my attention, and I’m sorry it had to happen that way.

  5. HATED Augustus dying. Hated the agony of the draw out (and the amount of tissues I used… Man) But I liked it? I mean I loved the book and the characters, and John is brilliant, but he quite literally KILLED MY DARLING. I just admire the realism I guess.

    And if he had to kill someone, then I guess Augustus was really the way to go. Hazel gives us a first-hand perspective not only of what experiencing the disease is like but watching someone else decline is heartbreaking and then having to go on without them.

    Can we talk about that author that Hazel loved but who turned out to be a jerk? Because I kind of adored how John gave us more insight to him and then just when you thought he was going to get his life back on track, he refuses to he redeemed.

    GOD THIS BOOK. ALLLLLLLL THE FEELINGS. ALL OF THEM.

    • megtao says:

      I LOVED the author as a character because at first you have the same reaction as Hazel and Augustus, but then you find out why he’s that way and you’re all sympathetic. It makes you realize that you can’t only not judge people by appearances/abilities/disabilities, but you can’t always judge people by the way that they act.

  6. I hated that Augustus had to die. I loved him so much. But at the same time I think it was necessary for him to die, for a few reasons.
    1) Because this is ultimately (IMHO) Hazel’s story and we needed to see how someone else dying affected her and how she would cope with the grief
    2) Like you said she meets Augustus and she learns to start living again – reading new books, watching new movies etc. I think this is the beautiful thing about our relationships with other people . They help us grow and they (ideally) make us better people. But though our friends/loved ones may bring about this change in us, it ultimately needs to become something unique to us. So I think Augustus had to die so we could that Hazel had truly changed. Not just that she had changed for him.

    I’m not sure if my second point made sense. I have so many thoughts/emotions!! And despite all my rational thoughts I was still destroyed by him dying.

  7. Epiphany says:

    I agree Augustus was the character that made the book, even though I love Hazel just as much. I just equate that to John’s experience, he knows how to write wonderfully quirky boys.
    Hazel was still witty and a great narrator. I recognised vlogbrothers sentiments in her thoughts but I enjoyed it, I just thought, well these are the author’s deeply felt opinions, of course they bleed through his characters.
    Anyhow I really loved how the corny sentiments that these characters usually make fun of, like living their best lives today, become real and important to these people. It was very affecting for me to feel the required feelings of these sentiments. It was weird and effecting to accept the meaning of sayings that I usually laugh at because they have become so trite and cliche.
    Anyone know what I’m talking about? Agree or disagree, etc.

    • megtao says:

      I really loved how the corny sentiments that these characters usually make fun of, like living their best lives today, become real and important to these people.

      This is a really excellent point! I agree completely.

  8. Mika says:

    MY FEELS HAVE BEEN DAMAGED THANK YOU VERY MUCH MR.GREEN. You have no idea how much I want to cry my eyes out because Agustus Waters died. John you are he best at writing and I love it but I hate the fact that YOU MADE HIM DIE!!!! Dftba!

Leave a Reply

