Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books I’d Give A Theme Song To

 Top Ten Books I’d Give A Theme Song To

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Oh god. This is actually going to involve work, isn’t it? I am HORRIBLE at connecting books to music, so I’m just going to put my music player on random and see if I can make any connections…

10. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor & “Go the Distance” – Michael Bolton (from Disney’s Hercules)

I’ll be there some day
I can go the distance
I will find my way
If I can be strong
I know every mile
Will be worth my while
I will go most anywhere
To feel like I belong

9. The Fault in our Stars by John Green & “You can’t always get what you want” – the Rolling Stones

No, you can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
And if you try sometime you find
You get what you need

8. New Moon by Stephenie Meyer & “Back to December” – Taylor Swift

These days I haven’t been sleeping,
Staying up, playing back myself leavin’.
When your birthday passed and I didn’t call.
And I think about summer, all the beautiful times,
I watched you laughing from the passenger side.
Realized that I loved you in the fall.

And then the cold came, the dark days when fear crept into my mind
You gave me all your love and all I gave you was “Goodbye.”

7. Cinder by Marissa Meyer & “Get it Right” – Lea Michele

What have I done? I wish I could run. 
Away from this ship going under
Just trying to help, hurt everyone else
Now I feel the weight of the world is
On my shoulders

What can you do when your good isn’t good enough?
When all that you touch tumbles down?
‘Cause my best intentions keep making a mess of things
I just want to fix it somehow

6. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling & “The Bravest Man I Ever Knew” – Ministry of Magic (Don’t care if I’m cheating. This probably isn’t the last time you’ll see Wizard Rock on this list…)

 All these things that tie us close
To what matters most
We cannot let go.

And sometimes consequences define your life with hardship.
Will goodness be the banner you raise?
Cause with his last breath, Severus said take it, take it.

Living in disguise.
A true wizard on the inside.
Not afraid of what he had to do.
He was the bravest man I ever knew.

5. Specials by Scott Westerfeld & “Last Kiss” – Taylor Swift

I still remember the look on your face
Been through the darkness at 1:58
The words that you whispered for just us to know
You told me you loved me so why did you go away, go away

I never thought we’d ever last kiss
Never imagined we’d end like this
Your name, forever the name on my lips
Just like our last kiss

4. Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson & “Since U Been Gone” – Kelly Clarkson

Here’s the thing
We started out friends
It was cool, but it was all pretend
Yeah, yeah, since you been gone
You’re dedicated, you took the time
Wasn’t long ’til I called you mine
Yeah, yeah, since you been gone
And all you’d ever hear me say
Is how I picture me with you
That’s all you’d ever hear me say

But since you been gone
I can breathe for the first time
I’m so movin’ on, yeah yeah
Thanks to you, now I get what I want
Since you been gone

3. Lioness Rampant by Tamora Pierce & “I’m not that Girl” – Wicked

Ev’ry so often we long to steal
To the land of what-might-have-been
But that doesn’t soften the ache we feel
When reality sets back in



Don’t wish, don’t start
Wishing only wounds the heart
I wasn’t born for the rose and the pearl
There’s a girl I know
He loves her so
I’m not that girl

3. Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling & “Jealousy” – Darren Criss

It drives me crazy in the morning
Who is this monster in the mirror
I try to get the steam to fog it out
But I just can’t get it clear

Cause every time that I feel like the world just got lighter
It seems like my muscles give out
It’s got nothing to do with me
It’s not even you, you see
It’s part of my chemistry
It’s this jealousy

2. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins & “I want to hold your hand” – The Beatles

Oh yeah, I’ll tell you something
I think you’ll understand
When I say that something
I wanna hold your hand
I wanna hold your hand
I wanna hold your hand

Oh, please, say to me
You’ll let me be your man

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins & “Firework” – Katy Perry

You just gotta ignite, the light, and let it shine
Just own the night like the 4th of July

‘Cause baby you’re a firework
Come on, show ’em what you’re worth
Make ’em go “Oh, oh, oh”
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books I’d Give A Theme Song To

  1. Miss Anderson says:

    Haha, Firework for Hunger Games! I love it. I can easily imagine them playing that at all the events before the Games, and in the TV broadcasts of the games. Amazing.

  2. vevadoll says:

    Ah I just read Miss Anderson’s and I love this idea. These are great as well, It’s fun to see what music goes through one’s head in certain instances!

  3. The fact that you included wrock totally made my morning ♥!

  4. Alyssa says:

    I LOVED your Harry Potter choices and I was going to do the same but didn’t want to cheat!! Here is my Top Ten

  5. Gah, so many great choices here. I LOVE ‘That Girl’ with Lioness Rampant and Scarlett Fever with ‘Since U Been Gone’ best I think. *hums*

  6. AAAAAAAAA I love the Rolling Stones one for The Fault in Our Stars!! And haha I want to hold your hand for Lola wins 😀 Great list! 🙂 😉

  7. Hollie says:

    I completely agree with Nea, I love The Rolling Stones for TFiOS, great choice! And yay for Wizard Rock! 😀

  8. Candice says:

    This one was kind of crazy hard! I don’t think I did a good job at all… But you did! Love that you managed to incorporate “Wicked” into your list – I just went to see it last week and it was FABULOUS! Also I may have to check out this Wizard Rock you keep mentioning…

    • megtao says:

      Wicked must be in ALL THE LISTS! It’s so good, isn’t it?

      Wizard Rock is an acquired taste. I recommend Ministry of Magic, Oliver Boyd and the Remembralls, The Mudbloods, and The Remus Lupins (especially his later stuff).

  9. reutreads says:

    Your choice for LOLA is amazing!! And Go The Distance!!! OMG HERCULES FANGIRL

  10. CLG says:

    love that last one.

Leave a Reply

