[discussion] XVI and Truth by Julia Karr

I am so sorry to those who follow me by e-mail and got spammed today. I have no idea what happened, but I suspect it has something to do with the new post button on wordpress, which I will never touch again I promise. ❤

Haven’t read these yet? Check out my review of XVI here and my review of Truth here!

My favourite part of books is discussing them with other fans. Because I want my reviews to remain spoiler-free as they’re more likely to be read by those who haven’t read the book yet, I’m also planning to post “book discussions,” for many of the books I review.  Obviously, these book discussions will contain spoilers and much flailing. Maybe some intellectual-like discussion…but mostly flailing.

I find myself really split in my feelings on this series. On the one hand, I am IN LOVE with the themes that are being addressed: female sexuality and how it is controlled by the media is a super important topic. This book pushes some boundaries by showing rape as accepted by the society, which should cause people to wonder how accepted it is in our own society. (Cause in a lot of cases…it still is. You still hear about people blaming the victim and some people don’t think marital rape is possible.)

On the other hand, I’m not so in love with how it’s written. The pacing, especially in Truth, is ridiculous. Also, for once, I could have done without the love triangle. I am all for difficult love situations when they’re done properly, but to go from The Perfect Relationship in book one to The Perfect Mess in book two with no in between bothered me. Yes, relationships evolve, and in high stress situations I guess that could happen faster than usual, but I don’t like having a new love interest thrown at me at the same time as the original relationship is disintegrating. One or the other please and thank you.

Something else that bothered me in Truth was how little Nina’s dead friend was mentioned. I mean, she died because of Nina. You’d think that would cause a bit of mental damage or something, but Nina hardly thinks about it, and when she does her reaction is minimal. Friendship at its finest.

Finally, while some of the characters seem a little flatter than I’d like, I really did enjoy seeing Dee’s development, even if it felt forced at times. Also Wei is one of my favourite secondary characters ever. I wish the book had been from her perspective.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book discussion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

