Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×1

This is a new weekly feature where Christa and myself will be watching and discussion all of the reboot of Doctor Who. My posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show! Allons-y!

Little background on myself, I began watching Doctor Who this past summer and became immediately addicted. I view Nine and Ten as the same Doctor and they are my Doctor, but if I had to choose one I would pick Ten. I am a complete Rose fangirl, but I love all the companions.

Rose by Russell T Davies

Summary

Rose Tyler wakes up to what seems to be an ordinary day: work, time with boyfriend, and more work. The ordinary quickly becomes extraordinary when the Doctor appears, and Rose finds herself on the front lines of a war she didn’t even know existed.

I think as an introductory episode, this does a fantastic job. We immediately get to know quite a bit about Rose and her relationships with both Mickey and Jackie (who may be one of my favourite secondary characters ever). The Doctor’s little introduction while in Rose’s house (reading a book just by skimming the pages, being able to tell that two people in a magazine are going to break up because one is gay and one is an alien) lets new viewers understand that there is something more to this guy. You can tell that he’s newly regenerated (his reaction to his ears), but he’s also apparently had several adventures already (Titanic, Kennedy assassination), so I wish we had a better idea of Nine’s earlier timeline, including more information about the Time War.

Speaking of the Doctor, somehow he manages to make my heart MELT despite being a little goofy looking. Like that look he gives Jackie when she says there’s a strange man in her bedroom. For the very briefest of moments he seems to be flirting with her and I suddenly want there to be a strange man in my bedroom. Also the look on his face the first time he walks away from Rose and returns to the tardis. And when he asks her to come with him he’s so nervous and adorable! BE STILL MY HEART!

The Rose/Doctor relationship is one of my favourites, and I’m sure I’ll talk more about it in later episodes, but I want to mention the way the Doctor treats Rose initially: he asks for her name and gives his own. I feel like that’s an unusual thing for the Doctor to do (though as I rewatch future episodes maybe I’ll remember it’s a common thing). If it is uncommon, I’m going to add this to my list of things that prove the Doctor and Rose are made for each other. (And Rose and Mickey are so, so, SO not. I strongly dislike Mickey in this episode.)

Finally, I want to take a second to say how bamf Rose is. In the basement she knows something’s going on and you can tell she’s afraid, but she still acts tough. You can tell she knows that there’s something more going on even though she tries to rationalize it. Her compassion for the Doctor is so immediate. She realizes he’s on his own and offers to talk with him so that he’s not alone. She also steps into the role of protector right away: she pulls the fire alarm at the restaurant, saving everyone else, she takes care of Mickey, and in the end she saves the day. Rose joins the Doctor not only for herself, but for him because she knows he’s alone, and this theme will be repeated throughout the seasons.

Favourite Quotes 

“It’s ‘armless now.” – The Doctor referring to the now non-function mannequin arm

“Do you know like we were saying, about the earth revolving? It’s like when you’re a kid, the first time they tell you that the world is turning and you just can’t quite believe it ’cause everything looks like it’s standing still. I can feel it… the turn of the earth. The ground beneath our feet is spinning at a thousand miles an hour. The entire planet is hurtling around the sun at sixty-seven thousand miles an hour. And I can feel it. We’re falling through space, you and me, clinging to the skin of this tiny little world. And, if we let go… That’s who I am.” – The Doctor

“Haha, good point! No murders!” – Clive

“The Doctor is a legend woven throughout history. When disaster comes he’s there. He brings a storm in his wake and he has only one constant companion. Death.” – Clive

Death Toll: 2 + unnumbered amount of plastics and people at the shopping mall

New Irrational Fears: mannequins and garbage bins

Headcanon: You know that moment in between the tardis leaving and returning so that the Doctor can say “Did I mention it also travels through time?” He totally had a couple more adventures in that moment (maybe that’s when the Kennedy and Titanic stuff happened), and then realized he couldn’t be without Rose and came back for her. ❤


About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×1

  1. Totally skipped to the bottom because I haven’t watched yet :(… BUT I WANT TO!

  2. Heidi says:

    YAY!! Doctor Who is my favorite show ever! I love it. SO much. I knit myself Tardis gloves, am making a Who Hat, and went as Amy Pond for Halloween. My sexception list consists solely of ‘The Doctor’. I’ll admit it, I love Matt Smith, the 11th doctor most, same with Karen Gillan as Amy Pond. Partially, this is because Stephen Moffat is my all time favorite screen writer, and it’s his writing that pushed Matt and Karen over #10, though of course I love David Tennant too!

    I felt like the reboot, especially the first few episodes, were pretty cheesy. I’m constantly trying to get friends to watch this and have to swear up and down that it gets amazing after you push past the cheese. I like Rose, but she’s actually my least favorite of the new companions. I think this is in part because I actually don’t like her relationship with the Doctor. It was just too much for me, and her and David Tennant looked super weird together to me. I did like her paired with Christopher Eccleson better.

    ANYWAY! I’ll shut it now, but I’m super excited that you’re doing this, and I’ll be following along. I love every excuse to rewatch my favorite show.

    • megtao says:

      I’m curious if you watched seasons 5/6 before seasons 1-4. Most people who prefer the 11th Doctor seem to fall into that category. I definitely agree that Steven Moffat’s plots are in general more exciting, but the cheesiness is part of my love of the show.

      Ahahaha how can you not like Rose/Doctor’s relationship. It is the most beautiful thing ever! XD

      I’m looking forward for having you join us! ❤

      • Heidi says:

        I didn’t! I watched the first season after it was on DVD, and have been watching as it aired ever since.

  3. DOCTOR WHO!!!! 😀 I love this show. I only started watching it four or five months ago, but I flew through all six series in a matter of weeks. Ten is definitely my favorite doctor as well.

  4. Samantha says:

    Oh, this is brilliant Meg! XD

    You know how much I love this series, and Rose, and Nine and Ten. I totally view Nine and Ten as the same Doctor too, though as you know if I had to pick one it’s Nine.

    I know a lot of people say the first few episodes of the reboot is cheesy, but I don’t care. Because I grew up hearing about and watching random episodes of Classic Who. It’s my dad’s favourite show. And Classic Who can be just as cheesy if not more so at times. It’s what Doctor Who is. ^_^

    I love your Headcanon. 😀 I would talk about my head canon, which involves why the Doctor regenerates into his next incarnation but I’m not sure if I should talk about that on episode 1, in case I spoil it for anyone…

    • megtao says:

      ahhh I can’t wait to hear your head canon when we reach that episode!!

      I don’t even see the cheesiness anymore XD It’s more like Doctor Whoness. And I watched a couple episodes of Classic Doctor Who and yeah, that’s just Doctor Who. XD

      <3333

  5. Pingback: Dorkilicious Kindle Covers « The Grown-Up YA

  6. Jasmine Rose says:

    I just started watching but I’m so completely in love. I have to say that from reading your post I’ve realized that I missed a lot from the first episode. I’ll have to go back and watch it again sometime.
    I really didn’t like Rose that much in this episode, but boy howdy did I grow to love her. Same goes for Nine ;]

Leave a Reply

