Unpopular Opinion: Odd Man Out

Love triangles: they’re everywhere from books to television to movies and I am the worst at picking the guy who the protagonist is going to end up with. I don’t know if it’s because I instinctively root for the underdog or if I purposely want to have my heart broken. Anyway here are some popular love triangles in YA fiction and my picks and you can see for yourself how often I am or am not wrong.

The Chemical Garden series by Lauren Destafano: Linden/Rhine

Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya: Yuki/Tohru

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: Peeta/Katniss

The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare: Jem/Tessa

Matched series by Ally Condie: Xander/Cassia

Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori: Kyouya/Haruhi

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi: Warren/Juliette

Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer: Edward/Bella

Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld: Zane/Tally

Some of these pairings I don’t know how they’ll end up (namely Chemical Garden, Infernal Devices, Matched, and Shatter Me), but I’m fairly certain that I picked wrong on those.

Who would you pick? Anyone else out there a total Warren or am I the only crazy one?

Want to read more about love triangles? Check out Mercurial Musings post about it here!

Please respect your fellow readers and avoid spoilers in the comments!
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in unpopular opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Unpopular Opinion: Odd Man Out

  1. Miss Anderson says:

    I love Xander and I want him to end up with Cassia in the end. I think it’s because KY and Cassia’s romance drives me nuts and it’s too obsessive. I love love triangles, though, because I like that there’s always a chance that the main character will surprise me.

    I also hate love triangles when they are overdone or done poorly, as I think many are.

  2. Candice says:

    I get really tired of love triangles because I think a lot of times they’re over done. And not very realistic. I feel like I typically root for the obvious one, the one that the author generally hints at will end up with the heroine, but on rare occasions I do seem to pull for the “wrong” one. I totally loved Linden in Wither; at first I wanted her to end up with Gabriel, but after reading the book a second time, I really liked Linden. Peeta, while looks-wise not my first choice, was no-brainer. Edward, same thing. I can’t really stand Ky, but after Crossed I warmed up to him a little bit – but still am pulling for Xander. Finally… The Jem v. Will discussion… I’m a little behind in that I haven’t read Clockwork Prince, so I don’t know how I fully feel about either, but based on Clockwork Angel, I prefer Jem. I think I’m sort of over the whole “bad boy with a heart of gold” thing. Why can’t we just have a sweet, nice, every day love interest?

    • megtao says:

      Because that’s boring apparently :/ I don’t understand…I want to read about REAL GUYS. Not only does it make my stomach all fluttery because the good moments remind me of my real relationship, but it doesn’t set you up for unrealistic expectations in how your relationship should be.

  3. Jasmine says:

    I’m totally all about Xander and Warren! I like Adam (I hope that’s the right name, it’s been a while) with Juliette too, but there’s something about Warren.

    • megtao says:

      THANKS GOODNESS I’M NOT THE ONLY ONE. I feel like such a bad person to like Warren because Adam is obviously the right choice for Juliette, but I just love him so much. ;A;

  4. reutreads says:

    FRUITS BASKET!! MUST FINISH. Even though I spoiled it for myself on Wikipedia. BUT SO GOOD.

  5. I’m not a big fan of love triangles in the first place, but I tend to almost always go with the guy who loses out in the end. Like you, if I had to pick, I’d definitely be pro Jem and Zane and Peeta (okay, so this one was a fluke). The rest of the books I haven’t read (oh, except Twilight, which I wasn’t much of a fan of, but if I had to pick it’d be Jacob).

  6. I haven’t seen a ton of Fruits Basket, but I SO THOUGHT SHE’D END UP WITH YUKI TOO. In the past I’ve usually shipped whoever the author points out, but as I’ve gotten older I’ve found myself questioning the choices the protagonist makes much more than I used to. I analyze the guys and sometimes want to be like “DUDE. Pick the other guy, he’s SO MUCH BETTER FOR YOU.”

    …But I’m kinda tired of love triangles. Wouldn’t mind a well-done one, but GAH.

    • megtao says:

      Lately I’ve been going “PICK THE OTHER GUY HE’S MORE BROKEN AND AWESOME” which isn’t a good thing because broken shouldn’t equate awesome.

  7. Lauren H. says:

    Two things:
    1) I’ve found that as I get older, the type of guy I favor in love triangles is changing. Used to be all about the dark, mysterious guy, but as I get older, I’m more often rooting for the sweet, normal, average Joe.
    2) I think it’s hard to do a love triangle right because you have to spend an equal amount of characterization on them both. I don’t think authors always do that. Sometimes one character is more focused on than the other.

    But I do kind of understand why YA sees such a huge amount of love triangles. My craziest teen year was when I was 17 because I had my first boyfriend, but then immediately had two other guys interested in me as well. I think it’s typical for teen girls to not know what they want and to not know what to do when presented with several handsome options 😛
    Lauren @ Hughes Reviews

    • megtao says:

      It’s true. I’ve been in a love triangle situation myself, and it’s nothing like how it’s portrayed in books. I think it’s an interesting tool in a book if done right, but only if it’s done right.

  8. To be quiet honest I haven’t read a lot of these series but I’m also a Linden/Rhine fan. I’m going to have to disagree with you about Jem/Tess though. Not that Jem isn’t an amazing guy but I think if the choice were fair she would choose Will and to do otherwise would be cruel to Jem. He deserves better than that.

    • megtao says:

      I don’t understand why she’s attracted to Will at all though. I agree that she should pick the one she loves the most, but I don’t understand how she can love anyone more than Jem. This was a big issue for me in Clockwork Prince :/

  9. Jackie says:

    Love triangles frustrate me because I never pick the person the protagonist chooses! It always makes me feel like I have bad taste in boys. Only, I know I don’t because I usually pick the boy that might actually help create a healthy and loving relationship. I never go for the bad boy or the heart breaker. There are usually tears involved in the mix. Why would I want to protagonist endure that?

    • megtao says:

      I have the same problem! Usually authors write it off as “love” or whatever, but I feel like that’s an excuse. Love isn’t this physical bonding force; it’s as much a choice as anything else.

Leave a Reply

