[Fantastic Five Friday] Five TV Shows I Love, But Didn’t Expect to Originally

Fantastic Five Friday is a new weekly meme hosted by Anna at The Weekly Enthusiast. You can take part even if you don’t have your own blog: just comment on her FFF post of the week!

Five TV Shows I Love, But Didn’t Expect to Originally

5. Two Broke Girls

I’m not big on comedy, but my mom had seen a sneak peak of this on her trip to Las Vegas and basically forced me to watch it. I won’t die if I miss an episode, but I appreciate the themes and the characters of the show.

4. Firefly

I actually watched the pilot of this show a couple of years earlier because one of my best friends was obsessed with it. I fell asleep like ten minutes in, and basically gave up on it. But then I watched it this summer and OH MY GOD. I suddenly understand all the love for this show.

3. The Office

image

I’d heard good things about this for a couple of years thanks to Angel, but again I wasn’t a big fan of comedy, and honestly the awkwardness made me feel kind of ill. Then I watched all of season 1 and 2 (and possibly 3?) with the boyfriend. My love of it has been renewed with Catherine Tate’s recent appearances as well.

2. Up All Night

This is a really recent thing. I’ve only seen a couple episodes because it happens to be on after The Office and before Awake during the boyfriend and mine’s Thursday night tv watching spree, but it’s actually kind of awesome. There’s a totally feminist undertone that I’m adoring.  Actually, a lot of the comedies I’ve been watching have that kind of theme, and it’s making me really appreciate comedies.

1. Community

Another show I didn’t think I’d like because of the comedy thing. This is probably one of my favourite shows ever. If you’re not watching it, you need to be. For real. Just do it.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in fantastic five friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to [Fantastic Five Friday] Five TV Shows I Love, But Didn’t Expect to Originally

  1. Angel says:

    I’m surprised you like Two Broke Girls. It’s incredibly racist against Asians–my cousin tried to make me watch an episode and I had to ask her to turn the TV off after ten minutes because I couldn’t take it.

    But yay for The Office! Jim/Pam are so amazing in s1-4, it’s a shame the characters hit a wall after the wedding. 😦

    • megtao says:

      I feel bad because I never really noticed or if I did it didn’t leave an impression on me. I know Han is the butt of quite a few jokes, but they’re usually short jokes, so I didn’t take that to be about race, unless it’s common for Asians to be short?

      Jim is still fun to watch, but yeah the show isn’t the same now that they’re together.

      • Angel says:

        Well…yeah. It’s less likely for Asians to reach 5’9″ and above in height. I know I personally don’t appreciate jokes about my height, and I especially dislike them when it’s connected to my race. It’s just all really awkward. >.<

  2. Community almost made it to my list too. But it was so recent that I didn’t think it counted.

  3. Lisa says:

    I just can’t get in to Community – but I feel you on the Firefly love. At first I was zzzz but then I was FANGIRLING.

  4. Heidi says:

    I only ever see the first two minutes of Up All Night and Two Broke Girls because I record the shows before them. I think Up All Night does look decent, but Two Broke Girls still seems terrible. Totes agree on The Office and Community though! I hated the American version of The Office initially, because I’d been such a fan of the British version. Then, they stopped trying to BE the British version and it came into its own (though it’s not near as good as it used to be). Community I started watching when it came on, quit because it sucked, and then started again because it got awesome. They do some of the most fun and creative things on TV now, and I love it beyond all reason (totally dreamed I was dating Abed during a zombie apocalypse the other night). And of course I love Firefly, but I was on that boat from cast off.

  5. OH MY GOD FIREFLY!!! Think about how different life would be if it wasn’t canceled halfway through season 1…more Wash, more Jayne, more Mal…

    I watched a few episodes of Up all Night a while ago when my boyfriend was working on a Saturday and I wanted to watch a show that he wouldn’t like. I loved it! I think I’ve seen about half of the eps; must watch more soon!

  6. Samantha Lin says:

    I have similar thoughts about Firefly! Initially wasn’t sure about it at all (especially since I hadn’t seen any of Whedon’s other works before), but the Nathan Fillion factor drew me in and then everything else kept me there. 😀

  7. I really, really, really want to watch firefly. My public library has ordered it and I’m waiting for them to get it in. Maybe I should go to the library today…

Leave a Reply

