[review] Crossed by Ally Condie

Warning: Contains spoilers for Matched by Ally Condie.

Cassia’s journey to find Ky in the Outer Provinces continues for some reason. Meanwhile, Ky struggles to survive as the Society uses him, and others like him, as target practice for whoever is attacking the Society.

Crossed (Matched, #2)

My favourite thing about this book is the cover. Candice blew my mind when she mentioned in the comments of a recent Top Ten Tuesday post that the covers are representing the different pills, which makes Cassia’s constant repeating of her grandfather’s “final advice” slightly less aggravating.

I listened to the audio-book (9 hours and 50 minutes of my life I can never get back) which was narrated by Kate Simses (Cassia) and Jack Riccobono (Ky). As you know from my review of Shatter Me, I adore Kate Simses as a narrator, but I felt like her voice didn’t fit Cassia. Or maybe I just don’t like Cassia. It’s more likely the latter. Riccobono did a good job with Ky; however, like I find with most male narrators, his female voices sounded more like he was making fun of female voices than being a female character. Not his fault, I suppose, but if they already had a female narrator, why couldn’t they have had her read the dialogue parts for the girls in Ky’s chapters (and vice-versa)?

The story itself felt pretty drawn out. There were some new characters that seemed kind of cool, until I realized why they actually existed, and then I just got annoyed. We get to look into Ky’s head a lot, which isn’t a place I like to be. I was indifferent to Ky after Matched, but after Crossed I strongly dislike him. I also felt that a lot of the revelations were kind of twisted and shoved into the story after Matched had already been published and so were disconnected from it.

Overall, I was disappointed by Crossed. Maybe I was expecting too much, or maybe I’m just becoming tired with the dystopian genre. Either way, I have little hope that Reached, which should be coming out November 13th of this year, will make up for it.

Books with similar aspects

Truth by Julia Karr

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

recommended to fans of Matched

not recommended to those looking for a series without the second book slump

Don’t just take my word for it!

“CROSSED was indeed a big improvement over MATCHED, but as always when I read these books, I am left with a sense of potential unmet.” – Amy @ Tripping Over Books

“Lovers of poetry and lilting prose will adore this book.” –Angel @ Mermaid Visions

“Yo, the audiobook of Crossed was intense. The dual narration of Kate Simses and Jack Riccobono was a great element.” – April @ Good Books and Good Wine

“I enjoyed Crossed even more than its predecessor Matched.” –Jen @ Almost Grown-up (full review on her goodreads)

“At this point, I’m not sure if I’ll read book three. This one was just not enough to continue my interest in Cassia’s story” – Kyle @ A Reader’s Pensieve

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to [review] Crossed by Ally Condie

  1. I NEVER connected the colors of the covers with the pills. Damn. Mind=blown.

    I was disappointed like you. Honestly, Crossed just bored me, plain and simple. I never wanted to know anything from Ky’s POV either and I read in an article with Ally Condie that Reached (that’s the title of book 3, right?) will have Cassia, Ky, AND Xander’s POV’s. Yuck.

  2. Krysta says:

    I’m just curious as to why you don’t like Ky. I don’t remember Crossed very well, but I thought Ky showed courage and sensitivity, even if his character voice was so similar to Cassia’s that I had to keep checking the chapter titles to figure out whose story I was reading. Strangely enough, I still feel that we don’t know that much about Ky, so it’s hard for me to like or dislike him strongly.

    • megtao says:

      I’ll try to answer this question without spoilers for Crossed 😄

      There are three main reasons I dislike Ky: he whines a lot, he takes (or tries to take) away Cassia’s choices, and he is selfish.

      Like half of his narrative is him whining about not being with Cassia and the other half is him whining about his father. I get that his life sucks, but it’s really unnecessary to continue repeating the same sob story.

      There are two separate occasions that come to mind of him trying to take away Cassia’s choice (and I think she catches him on both of them). To avoid spoilers…let’s just say both of them involve paper.

      Third, we know he knows how much Xander cares for Cassia, but he doesn’t care about that. He says he wants her to make her own choice, but we know that’s not true either: he tries to stack the cards so that he can win. Ky only cares about himself.

      So those are the main reasons I dislike Ky. Also, he hasn’t given me any reason to like him: I can maybe see the sensitivity, but I don’t see the courage.

      • Krysta says:

        Very nicely done. I don’t know if I could have avoided the spoilers. I shall endeavor to emulate your fine example in my reply, but I’m not sure how it will turn out. 😀

        I think you may have just swayed my opinion of Ky a bit because I don’t really like Cassia and everything you mentioned could apply to her, as well. She spends most of her time pining for Ky, even though she’s just realized her entire world is oppressive, and she tries to pressure him into doing things he doesn’t want to do. The sad thing, though, is that Ky actually does them because he’s afraid he’ll lose her to Xander if he doesn’t. I remember there was a line he had about Cassia not being a prize and Xander and him not being in competition–yet neither boy’s actions show that. Xander consciously keeps reminding Cassia of what a great guy he is and Ky, when he fails to take away Cassia’s choice as you mentioned, decides to go against his own conscience because he believes Cassia will like him better if he does. It’s a pretty flawed relationship all around. There’s no trust and no dependability.

        I thought Ky had had to have courage just to survive in the beginning. He mostly kept his head, came up with some plans, and tried to look after others. He could have given up, but he didn’t–and I find that fairly impressive even if he didn’t do anything particularly spectacular or inspiring.

    • megtao says:

      Yeah, Cassia’s not high up on my likeability list either. It’s true that the boys seem to be playing some kind of game with Cassia as the prize, and we know how much Xander likes to play games. The entire situation is upsetting tbh. No matter what they say, Cassia and Ky only fell in love because his picture showed up on her screen. Ky may have liked her before, but Cassia hardly noticed him despite them apparently being friends. At this point I pretty much could care less what happens to the lot of them.

  3. Alwyn says:

    I agree with you completely about Cassia. She bored me. I get that she’s opressed and believes in the system etc. but give me a little bit of Badassness or SOMETHING to hang on too. I didn’t pick up Crossed after being a bit bored by Matched although the book trailer for it ALMOST convinced me too.

  4. Okay so no picture for me because of stupid gravatar and wordpress.com commenting changes.

    Anyways.

    I had no idea the covers represented the pills.

    And while I liked Crossed, I agree about the voices for the characters, they should have just used the two narrators for the dialogue.

Leave a Reply

