[review] Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

ARC provided by Angel from Mermaid Visions.

Aria’s world is Better Than Reality. The Realms let those who live in the pods, safe from the outside world, explore hundreds of other places and times without any real danger. Aria is content with this world until her mother goes missing and she learns of a dangerous secret lurking within the people around her.

Under the Never Sky

My feelings for Under the Never Sky are really mixed. On one hand, I liked that Rossi strays from some of the stereotypical YA/dystopian formulas, like the cliff hanger. On the other hand, there was nothing in the story that really drew me in or wowed me.

The plot was well formed and moved at a nice pace, but I never found myself to be all that interested in the plight of the characters. Aria and Perry were both flat to me. Surprisingly, I found myself most interested by Roar and Marron who are secondary characters that don’t get THAT much story time. While Aria and Perry played out the average hero/heroine romance, Roar hooked me with his charm and story of forbidden love, and Marron made me curious to discover how exactly he accomplished all that he has. I’m hoping to see much more of them in the sequel.

The romance between Aria and Perry really should have grabbed me. Anyone who knows me knows I am all about the love-hate thing, but as much as often as Aria and Perry claim to be disgusted by each other, I never really felt the internal battle of love and hate. There were a couple swoon moments that reminded me of Divergent’s Four/Tris, but altogether I felt their romance was pretty rushed and unbelievable.

I did, however, appreciate the world-building. We only got to see the skeletons of a larger world, but I definitely got the feeling that the flesh exists. I’m hoping to hear more about the history of how the never sky came to be, and I think the different mutations and the kind of segregation that results from them was really interesting.

Overall, I’d say Under the Never Sky isn’t so much a must-read as a good read, and I’ll definitely read the sequel, though I’m not on the edge of my seat waiting for it.

Books with similar aspects

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari

recommended to dystopian fans who don’t want another cliffhanger looming over them

not recommended to those who prefer characters over plot

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Dystopian and sci-fi fans will be pleased with this horrifying look at a world gone wrong and the people fighting for survival.” – Angel @ Mermaid Visions

“Overall this is a good but not great read.” – Christa @ Hooked on Books

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to [review] Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

  1. Haha I love the quote you used from my review!
    But I’m totally with you on everything you said here. Great world building, less than stellar characters.
    I’m not sure if I’ll read the sequel. I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to find it but if the opportunity arose to read it I’d probably give it a go.

  2. Agree with many ponits here. Except for me, I was hooked right from the beginning. Then about halfway through the book, it lost me. I think it became really focused on the romanance when that should have remained a subplot. I also was really frustrated with how the duality of the two worlds was lost. I really wanted to know more about what was going on in the domes.

  3. I’m definitely among those who do prefer characters over plot, so I’m a little hesitant about this one. Still, it’s one that I’m not sure I’ll be able to get away with not reading. i think I’ll always be wondering how I’ll feel about it, especially because of all the hype it’s received. I think I’m going to borrow it or check it out from the library though. I do like the idea of a non-cliffhanger ending! I’m getting sick of never getting even a little bit of closure at the end of every series book.

  4. Alwyn says:

    I still haven’t decided if I’m going to give this book a shot. The concept for the world sounds great, but I just haven’t heard anything to make me think that plot will comepletely suck me in and really make me root for the characters. I’ll probably pick it up eventually but I’m not in any rush I guess…

  5. Heidi says:

    Haha, I feel like we had somewhat opposite takes on this book. I enjoyed the characters more (though you’re right, Roar’s the best of them), and the world building less. I agree though, there was more substance to the plot than the characters themselves–I’m hoping for a bit more building on things in the next book.

Leave a Reply

