[review] The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

ARC provided by Angel from Mermaid Visions.

Think you can’t die of a broken heart? Almost sixteen year old Brie is living proof of the contrary. Well, not so living. Now, with the help of fellow dead teen Patrick, she must find a way to pass through the five stages of grief and move on. But how can she let go of the world she once knew when everyone she loves is falling apart?

The Catastrophic History of You and Me

In general I am not a contemporary fan, but The Catastrophic History of You and Me isn’t your run-of-the-mill contemporary novel. It manages to combine all the best elements of the supernatural fantasy with all the best parts of a contemporary novel to create a fresh and at times heart-breaking story of love that transcends everything.

One thing I’ve lately been having trouble with in young adult fiction is the age of the protagonists. It seems I only see either get bratty, selfish, and naive teen characters or those who have it all together and seem more like they’re sixty than sixteen. Brie manages to be a realistic sixteen year old who doesn’t want to make me beat her over the head with a rolled up newspaper. She has her moments of selfishness, but seeing as she just freaking died I found it easier to cut her some slack because her actions and emotions stemmed from realistic motivations. In fact, all of the characters motivations were clear and I was able to relate to many of the characters.

My favourite characters were Brie’s three best friends, even though we don’t get to see them much. The relationship those four have is beautiful, and it reminds me of the friendship of the girls from The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants. It was their loss that made me cry because it was far too easy for me to imagine myself in their place.

The plot itself was good, though not perfect. Some of the twists were a little too obvious, though obvious foreshadowing is better than no foreshadowing at all. I felt like some of the threads of the plot were a teeny bit loose, but it never unravelled. The pop culture references were sweet and classic, so nothing likely to jar readers. The description was memorable, and I can still see some of the settings from the novel. (The Island! *shudders*)

All in all, this was a nice read somewhere in between light and thought-provoking. As a debut author, I think Jess Rothenberg will be someone to keep an eye on.

Books with similar aspects

The Wish List by Eoin Colfer

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

recommended to those wary of entering the contemporary genre (and those who already love it!)

not recommended to those who prefer a more linear story

Don’t just take my word for it!

“It’s bittersweet, funny, emotional, and clever. It’s not without flaws, though, but honestly what book DOESN’T have some?” – Amy @Tripping Over Books

“Thank you, Jess Rothenberg, for giving me a contemporary novel that will never break mine or other readers’ hearts.” – Angel @ Mermaid Visions

“Overall The Catastrophic History of You and Me was adorable, super duper hopeful and a lovely, lovely read.” – ChickLitGirl (full review on goodreads)

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [review] The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

  1. forloveandbooks says:

    Great review! I really loved this one (reviewed it today!) I agree that Brie is a great teenager, very well written. And I loved her best friends, that was a great dynamic!

    -Jac @ For Love and Books

  2. Candice says:

    I think I should bullet my comments so I don’t ramble:
    - It’s funny how everyone has said “there are faults in this book, twists are obvious, but it’s SO good!” I love reading reviews like that. Despite faults, flaws, whatever the book is still solid.
    - I agree with you about the unrealistic teens there seem to be; I get tired of them being at either one end of the spectrum or the other, especially when the teen seems to have everything together. I know I didn’t have it together in my teens; still don’t!
    - Maybe it’s been a while since I read one of your reviews (I know… bad blog friend) but I’m loving the format of the bottom half! I love that you give us similar books and also quotes from reviews by other bloggers/reviewers!
    And there you have it, my comment! :)

    • megtao says:

      Yeah, I’ve only recently begun adding quotes from other bloggers, so don’t feel too bad XD I’m glad that you’re liking the format :D <3

  3. Samantha says:

    I really need to try and get my hands on a copy of this book, lol. (I swear, I feel like I say that about ALL the books lately.)

    • megtao says:

      Does Australia have a public library system?

      • Samantha says:

        We do, but it’s been a long time since I used the library. I already have so many books that I’ve bought and haven’t read yet that I can’t justify borrowing even more books from a library until I actually get through the ones in my own library, lol.

        But mainly I think a lot of the books get published slightly later here than in the US, so it always takes longer for me to find all these awesome books.

    • megtao says:

      this one hasn’t been out for that long, but hopefully long enough for you to find it :)

  4. This is one of those ones that I REALLY want to read, but keeps getting pushed down on the TBR because of being too busy. Le sad. GREAT review! :)

Leave a Reply

