Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×5

This is a weekly feature where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post as well! Allons-y!

World War Three by Russell T Davies

The Doctor, Rose, and their new friend Harriet Jones (MP for Flydale North) must stop the Sliveens from starting World War Three!

I spent a good chunk of this episode holding back tears because my beautiful Doctor Who characters kept doing such selfless things. The rest of my time was split between my heart exploding because of how perfect Nine/Rose are and being in complete awe over how much Nine can be seen in Eleven.

Between Mickey and Harriet Jones I have no idea how I didn’t sob through this episode. Mickey’s development in this episode is insane. He risks his life for Jackie, planning to take on an alien that he know will kill him to get her to safety. The Doctor provides the information, but Mickey presses the buttons that save the world. Somehow, he manages to hold it together, showing just what he’s truly made of. The fact that he chooses not to leave with the Doctor shows how much growing he has left to do.

Harriet Jones goes through a transformation as well. At the beginning of the episode you can see that her priorities still are a little skewed. Running away from murderous aliens? Must return to get “important” papers! Doctor is passing you a last drink? You have to pass it to the left first. But by the end of the episode Harriet is making decisions that save the world, taking the pressure off of the Doctor. Also, when she tried to save Rose by sacrificing herself I sobbed a little. I love that Doctor Who lets us see the strength humanity can have when it’s down to the wire.

Of course, I have to mention Jackie because she is freaking brilliant in this episode. I love that she stands up to the Doctor time after time. Her love for Rose is perfect. In fact, Rose’s relationship with her mum is one of my favourite things about season one because it’s so realistic. I love the little things, like how they both chew on their thumbs when they’re nervous or thinking.

And I think Jackie plays a huge role in the Doctor’s development in this episode. Because she’s always questioning him, the Doctor really has to take a look at his own feelings and recognize that he doesn’t really want to save the world if it means losing Rose. I think there are two parts of the Doctor doing battle: the selfish, childish part that wants to spend time with Rose and show her everything he can and the more mature and wise part that knows if he does she could die. The selfish part continues to win out, which I love because it shows just how flawed the Doctor really is.

And that look Rose gives the Doctor when he explains how he could save the world but lose her… You know she’s swooning on the inside. I mean, who wouldn’t? She hides her feelings later with jokes, but I think this is a turning point in their relationship. This is when Rose decides she’s never going to leave the Doctor.

Favourite Quotes

“If I was going to execute someone by backing them against the wall, a little word of advice: don’t stand him against a lift.” – The Doctor (I’m having Eleven flashbacks (flashforwards?) of The Time of the Angels/Flesh and Stone)

“I’ve seen this life of yours, Doctor, and maybe you get off on it and maybe you think it’s all clever and smart, but you tell me,  just answer me this,  is my daughter safe?” – Jackie

“Victory should be naked.” -a Sliveen

death toll: 10

favourite thing that no one else will care about: I love that the Doctor still can’t drink alcohol (he spits his out). Is Ten the only one who can? Though Rose later says in the episode that he does drink so… 

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×5

  1. Candice says:

    I watched about 15 minutes of Dr. Who (before falling soundly asleep – very long day yesterday!) last night and thought “I need to tell Meg about this! She would be so proud!” haha!

  2. I’m with you on all the character development. Especially Harriet. She rocks my socks. But Jackie also grows on me quite a bit in this episode.

    Is that “pass it to the left” thing actually a custom? I thought she was just doing that because Rose was younger and would need the drink more haha.

    • megtao says:

      Yeah, I’m like 99% sure it’s a politeness/custom thing. Could be wrong, but that’s what I thought it was XD I figure she’s British and protocol is kind of their thing.

  3. Elizabeth R says:

    If you love the relationship between Rose and Nine. I cannot wait to see you views about Rose and Ten because their relationship is very rocky but the depth in which he cares for her is touching.

    • megtao says:

      I’m actually mainly a Ten/Rose shipper, so I’m really looking forward to studying their relationship more in-depth in when I rewatch S2 😀

  4. Samantha Lin says:

    Oh goodness, I can’t do this right now in light of just having finished Season 2, because now there’s this and Rose and Nine and I just… T___T

    • megtao says:

      Doomsday tends to break you. Try not to let it affect S3 too much. Martha is not Rose, but she’s awesome in her own way, so be sure to give her a chance.

Leave a Reply

