Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books to Read in a Day

Top Ten Books to Read in a Day (or books you shouldn’t start reading during exams because you won’t want to put them down–trust me)

hosted by Broke and the Bookish

10. Divergent by Veronica Roth

From wanting to see what faction Tris will choose to seeing if she’ll manage to survive training, putting down this book is more difficult than jumping off a lev train onto a skyscraper.

9. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Between the mystery of the protagonist herself to the steamy love interests, you will not want to put this book down even after the last page.

8. 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

As each envelope leads you to another clue, stopping reading will not be an option. Luckily, the sequel will be waiting when you finish.

7. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Plot aside, you will not want to put this down because the characters–oh my goodness the characters–are the best people we have the misfortune of never getting to meet in person.

6. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

Once you start feeling all the feelings you can’t stop.

5. Unwind by Neal Shusterman

This book is great because you’ll have nightmares if you stop reading partway through and you’ll have nightmares once you finish. Nightmares forever.

4. Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

You’ll be as trapped in the pages of this book as the people in Incarceron.

3. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

I won’t even bother daring you to stop reading this book because I know it can’t be done. That last page will have you on your knees begging for the next instalment.

2. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

What do you get when you take a group of kids stuck in a world that is trying to kill them? A book that is impossible to put down.

1. The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I know this will probably be on every list out there today, but seriously guys I read The Hunger Games and Catching Fire back to back and then Mockingjay the moment it was released. This is the book series I refuse to lend to friends during the school year because I know they’ll get behind in school work if I do. You need to read this series, just wait until break to do it.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books to Read in a Day

  1. Carissa says:

    We have very similar lists – with a few sequel switcheroos! I put Fire and Delirium rather than Graceling and Pandemonium, but could have just as easily put those!

  2. Good to hear I should be able to read Unwind in a day – it’ll probably make me pick it up sooner (I’ve decided not to even bother doing the Classics book club this month, since the books take up about 3 weeks of reading in a month! It’s Euripides and Oedipus Rex this month; I’ve already read Euripides, his plays are awesome, but I packed the book away so I’m using that as an excuse!).

    I think I must be the only person who doesn’t like the cover of Incarceron! It keeps appearing on beautiful cover lists on Goodreads. That must be why I haven’t stopped to actually see what it’s about. I’ve dithered many times over The Maze Runner, I wasn’t sure if it was any good or not.

    Here’s my list.

  3. forloveandbooks says:

    Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes is high on my list, I actually have a copy but haven’t read it yet! Maybe now I need to get around to it 🙂 Great list!

    Stop by and see my Top Ten / Teaser Tuesday!

  4. Miss Anderson says:

    Your mention of Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes moves it just a little higher on my TBR list. I definitely see your love for dystopia here — so many good books!

  5. Candice says:

    Oh, 13 Little Blue Envelopes is sitting on my bookshelf! Glad to see I’ll be hooked! Although I haven’t read all the books on your list, Yes… I agree with you on them. 🙂

  6. Excellent list! Although I haven’t read 13 Little Blue Envelopes or The Maze Runner yet but I will! Soon! I promise!

  7. The books I’ve read on this list – like Graceling & Divergent – totally rocked so I’ll have to check the others out.

  8. Heidi says:

    Oh hells to the yeah, fantastic list. Everything I’ve read and loved or desperately need to read. Starting with TFioS which I brought home from the library last week…

Leave a Reply

