[review] The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld

When Jessica Day’s family moves to Bixby, Oklahoma, she didn’t know what to expect. She certainly wasn’t expecting to meet the Midnighters: teens who can see the 25th hour, the secret hour.

The Secret Hour (Midnighters, #1)

Sometimes it can be hard going back and reading a favourite author’s earlier works. After reading the Uglies and Leviathan series, the first book of the Midnighters series leaves something to be desired in comparison.

I found myself confusing characters: Melissa and Dess or Sam and Rex. Different chapters are narrated by different characters, and while I usually don’t have an issue with this, I had a difficult time keeping track of who was who. I managed to get a grip on the characters by the second half of the book, but that is really too long to be scrambling to remember characters. Even now the characters didn’t leave all that big of an impression on me. I know I shouldn’t be expecting another Tally or Deryn, but it’s hard not to compare Jessica, Dess, and Melissa to those super awesome female characters, and sadly there really is no comparison.

The idea itself is cool, I guess. This book is more like an opening chapter. I can feel that there is more excitement to come. The build up is there. I’m hoping the second book will deliver…

Books with similar aspects

Peeps by Scott Westerfeld

Maxium Ride: The Angel Experiment by James Patterson

Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

recommended to the younger side of the YA reading spectrum who enjoy large casts of quirky characters

not recommended to anyone looking for a follow up to one of Westerfeld’s big hits: The Uglies series or the Leviathan series.

You’ll have to take my word for it…no one on my goodreads has reviewed it :(

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to [review] The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld

  1. It’s always interesting to go back and read and author’s earlier work and to see how they’ve grown as a writer. Too bad this didn’t measure up to his other books.

  2. Heidi says:

    I hear ya, I haven’t picked up this series for the same reason. I did read Peeps (and The Last Days, though the latter was pretty meh), which I thought was really cool, but still not as good as his other series.

  3. Briana says:

    I somewhat recently read the second book…without having read the first. I, uh, didn’t know it was a series, but more about that awkwardness in my upcoming review….

    From reading the second book, however, I did get the impression that I hadn’t missed too much from the first book. They referenced Jessica’s battle with the darklings a few times, but it didn’t come across as TOO much of a big deal for some reason. I thought it was interesting, but I’m probably not going to read the third book or the first one. I agree it’s not Westerfeld’s most captivating work.

    Also, the characters were defnitely quirky and I loved the variety…but I didn’t really love any of the characters. They weren’t particularly likeable or relateable in my opinion.

  4. I have a copy of this book that I was given from someone, but it didn’t grab me so I’ve never picked it up. Despite loving Uglies and Leviathan. I love how you put the “recommended to and not recommended to” because it’s super helpful. I can see from your description how it’d be similar to Maximum Ride (which I didn’t particularly like because it was too simple).

    Great review!

  5. Pingback: [review] Touching Darkness by Scott Westerfeld | coffeeandwizards

  6. Pingback: [review] Blue Noon by Scott Westerfeld | coffeeandwizards

Leave a Reply

