Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×8

This is a weekly feature where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post as well! Allons-y!

Father’s Day by Paul Cornell

Rose asks the Doctor to bring her back in time to meet her father before he dies. When Rose breaks the rules, she tears a rip in time that could destroy the entire world!

This episode has a mixture of all of my favourite elements: excellent secondary characters, great themes, and tear-wrenching moments that make me sob EVERY SINGLE TIME.

One of my favourite elements of Rose’s seasons as companion is the secondary characters. Pete/Jackie is one of my favourite Doctor Who pairings because they are such a realistic couple. They go through rough times, and then he dies and Jackie has to raise Rose on her own, so of course she completely romanticizes him, but you know that even when she’s shouting at him she loves him. Some people are just meant to be together, and they’re two of them.

The Doctor and Rose are also so meant to be together, and this episode shows the first big bump in their road. The Doctor loves Rose so much that he’s willing to take her to see her father die just so that she can get some closure. He does everything he can to protect Pete because he wants to protect Rose. They both say very hurtful things to each other this episode, but in the end they apologize and forgive each other. Their relationship is verging on normal(ish) with normal(ish) problems, and as much as the Doctor would say otherwise, I think he wouldn’t mind a normal life with Rose sometimes.

Also, again the theme of every human life being important hits hard in this episode. It’s my favourite recurring theme in Doctor Who perhaps because it’s so easy to think of oneself as insignificant.

In other news, this episode makes me SOB SO HARD. It’s the fact that Pete is sacrificing himself and he knows it and Rose knows it and Jackie knows it. It just hurts so much. It’s such a beautiful moment but so very sad. I don’t think I’ll ever not be able to cry through this episode. Bravery by the ordinary man in the face of death always gets me.

Favourite Quotes

“An ordinary man: that’s the most important thing in creation.” – the Doctor

“Who said you’re not important?  I’ve travelled to all sorts of places, done things you couldn’t even imagine, but you two. Street corner, two in the morning, getting a taxi home. I’ve never had a life like that. Yes. I’ll try and save you.” – the Doctor

“Now, Rose you’re not going to bring about the end of the world, are you? Are you?” – the Doctor talking to baby!Rose

“No, love, I’m your dad. It’s my job for it to be my fault.” – Pete Tyler

fantastics: 1

deaths: 14, but only one of them sticks

prompts for fanficcers: So…after that fight…the Doctor and Rose totally had make up sex, didn’t they?

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×8

  1. So I’m totally with you that this episode has excellent secondary characters and great themes but this episode makes me so frustrated that I can’t even cry at the end when I’m supposed to. It’s a great episode but I usually just want to shake Rose silly by the end of it.

  2. Heidi says:

    This episode was one that made me fall in love with this series. It’s one of the best early episodes, and I’m certain its the first that made me cry. I think it’s heartbreaking, but I like that the Doctor lets Rose make such a massive mistake and that he let’s her learn the hard way in hopes that she can have a little happiness and understanding in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

