Dewey’s Read-a-Thon

For the first time ever, I will be participating in Dewey’s Read-a-Thon. I will be missing a large chunk of it because I’m going to see Beauty and the Beast in theatre with friends, but when I’m not out being social I promise to return to my recluse ways and get some reading done.

My Reading List

  1. Cardboard Characters by Julie Seifert (e-book)
  2. Above by Leah Bobet
  3. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia
  4. Starters by Lissa Price
  5. Touching Darkness by Scott Westerfeld

Considering I won’t be able to read from 10AM until 6PM because of social engagements, I think that’s a pretty good goal. You can keep track of my progress at this post or on twitter.

Update #1 It’s 9PM and I just finished my first book of the read-a-thon. Feel like a bit of a failure, but hey, that’s what happens when you have plans to see a musical on a day that turns out to be a read-a-thon day. I’m tired, but I plan to keep reading for the next eleven hours (except for a half hour break before midnight in which I’ll try to get some writing done so I DON’T BREAK THE CHAIN!) Beauty and the Beast was great by the way. Review of it will be going up this upcoming week.

Update #2 The read-a-thon is officially over! I finished my second book, Starters by Lissa Price, at around midnightish. By that time I was pretty tired, but I tried to push through a bit of Beautiful Creatures, but a headache had set in, so I switched to manga, but couldn’t recover and had to go to bed at 1PM ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Woke up at 7:57 AM and read a couple more pages of the Sailor V #2 manga to finish of the read-a-thon. Even though I didn’t get to participate as much as I wanted to, I still had an excellent time. Next time, I want to participate in the mini-challenges and not go away during my prime reading time!

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dewey’s Read-a-Thon

  1. Paulina says:

    Good luck with the read-a-thon today! It’s great that you’ll be participating for part of the day, even if you can’t do the whole thing.

  2. Don’t worry if you cant do it for 24 hours.. just enjoy reading and have fun! ๐Ÿ™‚ *\o/*

  3. Brenna says:

    Dude. how JEALOUS am I that you’re going to see Beauty and the Beast?! That is an AWESOME way to take a break from the read-a-thon! Let me know how it is.

    Also, I put off Above for now, but I’m still hoping to get to it later today. Picked up a different one instead. I really liked Starters, but I got a semi-Cinderella inspirational vibe from it so I’d be curious to see if you feel the same way.

    Have fun!

    Brenna from Esther’s Ever After

    • megtao says:

      I really enjoyed it! I’ll go more in detail in my post about it, but it was a lot of fun!

      Yeah, the Cinderella thing in Starters was definitely intentional, though it didn’t really affect the story for. I LOVED THE ENDING.

  4. But what a great excuse! I decided just to do 12 hours, do whatever is best for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. neabarabea says:

    Glad you had fun!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. You did GREAT! I don’t know if I would have had the energy to read around my own social engagements lol.

    (PS, Hope you had fun seeing Beauty and the Beast! ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  7. You went to see Beauty and the Beast in theatres? I want to be your friend.

Leave a Reply

