[review] Destined by P. C. Cast and Kristin Cast

Zoey and her friends have to do some stuff to protect the world from darkness. Oh and they’re vampires or something, but don’t worry about that because it hardly ever comes up anyway.

Destined (House of Night, #9)*sigh* I started reading this series around the time that Breaking Dawn came out. In the beginning, the series was not all that bad. I mean, it still had way too many pop culture references, but I didn’t find the voices of the characters annoying and there seemed to be some consistency to the plot.

That was all thrown out about book three, and I’ve been dragging myself through the series ever since. The last book filled me with intense rage. This one just left me feeling bored. I’m not even upset that there are people out there reading this and believing that it’s good. People, go ahead and read what you want. There are some okay messages in this for the younger audience. They’re usually shoved in your face, but hey it could be worse. Don’t actually let younger people read these books though because it has moments of kind of graphic sex and violence. Like, not enough to push it out of the YA genre, but enough that I wouldn’t want my fifteen year old reading it if I had a fifteen year old.

Well, I wouldn’t want my fifteen year old reading it anyway because it is really a horribly written and planned series. Seriously, I do not recommend this series. It is the worst series I have ever read. I don’t like writing bad reviews about books, but I feel it is my duty to warn people away from this series so that they don’t waste their time. There are so many good books out there, guys. Go read them instead.

recommended to no one. I wish these on no one. (Okay, so those who like those never ending teen series about vampires and sex and pop culture might not mind it.)

not recommended to everyone. Just stay away.

Books with similar aspects

Those teen series with a hundred books in them that lead no where. I know you know which ones I’m talking about. Also vampires.

You’ll have to take my word for it…no one on my goodreads has reviewed it 

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.


About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to [review] Destined by P. C. Cast and Kristin Cast

  1. forloveandbooks says:

    What a bummer that you didn’t like this one 😦 It sounds really good, but I don’t think I’ll be reading it.

    -Jac @ For Love and Books

  2. Jenn says:

    I actually have a few of these but haven’t read any. Now I’m not sure I want to! Hopefully you have better luck with your other books! Happy reading!
    Team Polonius

    • megtao says:

      I’d really recommend not reading them, especially if you’re the kind of reader who doesn’t like to leave a series unfinished once you start.

Leave a Reply

