[discussion] Starters by Lissa Price

Haven’t read it yet? Check out my review over here!

My favourite part of books is discussing them with other fans. Because I want my reviews to remain spoiler-free as they’re more likely to be read by those who haven’t read the book yet, I’m also planning to post “book discussions” for many of the books I review.  Obviously, these book discussions will contain spoilers and much flailing. Maybe some intellectual-like discussion…but mostly flailing.

OH MY GOD YOU GUYS

Did any of you see that ending coming? Because it threw me for a loop and a half. I actually had a hint that something was going on from the helicopter scene, but I thought that what had actually happened was that Blake was the Old Man instead of the Old Man being Blake. If that had happened, I think I would be a lot less creeped out. As it is, I’m not really sure how to feel. I mean…I really liked Blake and now Blake is this creepy old guy and that changes things  but it also doesn’t change things and I don’t know how I feel about either of those things. You know?

ALSO OH MY GOD IS HER FATHER ALIVE?! I can’t help but think her father is alive. That would be really awesome but I’m trying not to get my hopes up because it seems almost too easy and is probably a mind game being played by the Old Man. Maybe. Gosh, I need the next book now.

I should probably talk about something, like, intellectual about this book… Um.  Yeah, nothing’s coming to me. This book was largely action-y fluff to me. The kind of book that if you digest too many it rots your brain but GOODNESS DOES IT FEEL GOOD WHILE YOU’RE READING IT. Not that it was poorly written or anything, but whereas, say, The Hunger Games has some pretty evident themes (like the increasing violence in the media or how the media can change perception or how we as a society don’t care nearly as much as we should), I don’t feel that Starters really has something like that. I guess you could talk about child homelessness, but it seems like such a specific circumstance that it doesn’t feel like it relates to contemporary reality.

I’m rambling. Let me know your thoughts so I can ramble MORE (hopefully in a more coherent way)!

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book discussion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [discussion] Starters by Lissa Price

  1. I totally thought the old man was going to end up being her father! So it really threw me a through a loop when it turned out to be her love interest! Ahhhhhh!!!

    You’re right this book is full of action fluff and while that may not make it a thought provoking book it is still a lot of fun and I got the same enjoyment out of it that I get from watching Die Hard or something similar. And I’ll count that as a win any day

    • megtao says:

      OHHH YOU ARE SMART! That would’ve been a good twist. Hopefully he’s still not her father because that would be WAY TOO YUCKY.

      Yes, exactly. I love my action fluff. I can only read so much thought-provoking stuff before I need a well-written book that I can just ENJOY.

  2. Jasmine Rose says:

    I wasn’t really feeling Callie and Blake for some reason, but finding out that it was the Old Man all along actually made it make a LOT more sense. I was still completely grossed out, though 😛

  3. Heidi says:

    OMG I KNOW. Yes to everything up there. I mean, I did NOT see that coming. My jaw literally dropped, and I mouth breathed for a good 2 minutes as my mind attempted and failed to wrap around the sudden incredibly need to scrub my internal organs clean. I mean, how dirty did I feel?! SO DIRTY.

    And YES! I so hope her dad’s alive. I am SO excited for the next book.

    • megtao says:

      I don’t know how I feel about her deciding to make new memories with the real Blake. That seems really…shallow? Like, everything she liked about him was the Old Man pretending (or maybe not pretending because it seems like he really liked her…), except for his physical appearance. So…yeah.

Leave a Reply

