[review] Codename: Sailor V, Vol 2 by Naoko Takeuchi

Sailor V’s adventure continues as she discovers more about herself and about her past.

Codename: Sailor V, Vol. 2 (Codename: Sailor V, #2)Anyone who knows me knows that I am a HUGE Sailor Moon fan. I consider it to be my original fandom, and I can’t even imagine my life without Sailor Moon because it led me to some of the greatest people I’ve ever met.

For a Moonie like myself, Sailor V is great. You get backstory. You get to see new characters. You get more Moonieness, and more Moonieness is ALWAYS a good thing. For the newb to the Moonie fandom, I’d say you’re best to stay clear for now.

While there’s a kind of overall arc, the individual chapters can feel pretty scattered and repetitive. While V seems to gain some knowledge at the end of every chapter, I feel that at the beginning of the next chapter she’s already reverted.

That said, the Ace story arc had me completely enthralled. I wish there had been more to it because it was just so heartbreakingly marvelous.

Seriously though, if you’re new to the fandom just go check out Bishojo Senshi Sailor Moon FIRST. Then you can come back to this once you’re properly hooked.

Books with similar aspects

Bishojo Senshi Sailor Moon by Naoko Takeuchi

Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya

Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori

(okay, so mostly the only thing that is the same is that they’re all shojo manga…but they’re my favourites so DEAL WITH IT)

recommended to Moonies

not recommended to those looking to get into the manga or Moonie fandom

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [review] Codename: Sailor V, Vol 2 by Naoko Takeuchi

  1. I loved Sailor Moon growing up but I had never read any of the manga until they recently started reissuing them. I didn’t even know Codename Sailor V existed until a couple months ago!
    I’ve read the first one now and I absolutely loved it. Can’t wait to read this one next 🙂

  2. Candice says:

    I’ve never – and prbably will never – read manga (I know… I’m pretty closed minded). But I’ll be honest here: I LOVE THE PANTS OFF SOME SAILOR MOON. When I was in high school it came on TV at 4:30 in the morning. I’d, no joke, wake up at 4:30 to watch it, then go back to sleep until it was time to go to school. Even as an adult I’ve watched the different movies on YouTube, as well as the entire final season, which is still in Japanese (but thankfully has subtitles). It’s funny how, looking back, I was the ultimate Sailor Moon fangirl… although I never told anybody. I guess until now… :/

Leave a Reply

