[review] The Avengers

image

I have been waiting for The Avengers ever since that first preview in Iron Man. I’d heard really good things about it from friends whose opinions I really trust. Add this to my intense love of Joss Whedon’s work and it’s not surprising that my expectations were unbelievably high. I was not disappointed. The Avengers is a near perfect movie. There was not a moment that I was not entertained. The dialogue was witty. The characters are fun. The action was intense.

You can basically split the movie into three types of scenes: scenes where there are explosions and/or awesome fight sequences, scenes where you can’t stop laughing, and scenes where there is both (these scenes generally involved the Hulk who is my new favourite Avenger).

I do have a couple of complaints, however. It would have been nice to learn a bit more about Black Widow seeing as she’s the only woman on the team. Also, her weapon is ridiculously small compared to the rest of the group. I know size doesn’t matter, but seriously? I just expected her to be a bit more kickass since Whedon was in charge.

Secondly and finally, I am SO DISAPPOINTED by the lack of Thor/Jane. They mention her ONCE and Thor is SO FREAKING NONCHALENT about it. WHAT THE FRICKEN FRICK? He finally makes it back to Earth and he doesn’t even go visit her? I realize there is the whole end of the world thing going on, but seriously. SERIOUSLY. You cannot end Thor the way they ended Thor and then not continue that storyline in The Avengers.

I had better get a sequel and that sequel had better conclude the Thor/Jane storyline or I will be seriously upset.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in movie review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [review] The Avengers

  1. I want to see this so frackin badly.

  2. Tamara says:

    *SPOILERS BELOW*

    I did indeed love this movie – the one liners, oh, the one lines. And yes, the Hulk (ahem, Banner, swoon) was awesome.

    I was really disappointed they didn’t do more with Hawkeye’s (OMG IS THAT REALLY HIS NAME?) possession. I was totally expecting Loki to “switch” it back on to turn him against them again when they were most vulnerable. I mean, she *knocked* the possession out of him? That’s just lazy writing.

    Also, all those action shots from inside cars? Okay, they tried it, it didn’t work. Now they must never try it again.

    Other than those quibbles I really enjoyed it ❤

    • megtao says:

      I agree on the Hawkeye thing. I felt like they cut it short on purpose, but if they’d had more time maybe we’d have gotten to see a better job on that storyline.

Leave a Reply

