Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×11

This is a weekly feature where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post as well! Allons-y!

Boom Town by Russell T Davies

The Doctor, Rose, and Jack head off to Cardiff to refuel the Tardis on some handy rift energy and discover an old enemy up to her old schemes.

This is probably one of the least memorable episodes for me. I actually had forgotten 99% of what happened, so it was like getting to watch it for the first time.

My favourite part of this episode is the interaction between the Doctor, Rose, Jack, and Mickey. The banter is so much fun. It’s really great getting to see how each character reacts with the other characters and their reactions to other people’s interactions. The Doctor’s jealousy is adorable, though he tries so hard to hide it.

My favourite scene is probably the restaurant bit between the Doctor and the Sliveen when she’s trying to kill him and he just keeps thwarting her and smiling. I also really like Mickey’s blow up at Rose because I think it brings up some things that many watchers would just ignore. This is the episode where I gained some respect for Mickey (despite his bumbling idiot sequence earlier in the episode). I liked that he stood up for himself and called Rose on her choice because really when it comes to Mickey she is selfish. I think at the end of this episode she’s realized that as well.

Favourite Quotes

“I bet you’re always the first to leave, Doctor. Never mind the consequences, off you go.” -Blon Slitheen (oh my god the foreshadowing!!!)

“From what I’ve seen, your happy-go-lucky little life leaves devastation in its wake. Always moving on because you dare not look back.” – Blon Slitheen

deaths: 1

fantastics: 1

awkward sex moments: 2

new favourite pairing: Jack/Tardis

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×11

  1. Yes! We have the same favourite scene! Great minds think alike 🙂

  2. I actually watched this for the first time a couple weeks ago when I was lucky enough to stumble across the fact that my cable provider had it OnDemand! I totally agree on the favorite scene bit– loved how she just kept going “But I bet you didn’t know THIS!” And he’s just cheerily “Yep! Knew that too!”

  3. Samantha says:

    I love this episode. Even more so when you’ve watched Torchwood, and so know how long (let’s call him “Future Jack”) has been working in Cardiff, and would’ve seen all these events play out. I once wanted to write a one-shot set pre-Torchwood during this episode, from Future Jack and the Torchwood teams point of view.

    One of my favourite moments is still when they first arrive and they all get out of the Tardis. And Jack gives Mickey the Whatever sign (that finger W thing), and Rose leaning against the Tardis kind of stroking it. 😀

Leave a Reply

