Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×13

First off, apologies for the scattered posting pattern. I’ve been really busy with school, but now that my placement is over I’m going to jump back into daily posts. Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon posts will be bumped up to two posts a week, so come back every Wednesday and Friday for the next review!

This is a weekly feature where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post as well! Allons-y!

The Parting of the Ways by Russell T Davies

It’s the season finale, and the Daleks have Rose. The Doctor will have to pull all the stops to save the woman he loves. But what if she doesn’t want to be saved?

The first time I watched this episode I was just along for the ride, but this time I was able to look back and see how incredibly flawed the Doctor is. He is really, really selfish. After saving Rose from the Daleks he comes up with this impossible plan (he knows it’s impossible from the very beginning) and then lets people go die for it. He keeps Rose by his side so that he has the opportunity to save her, but if he really wanted the plan to succeed he would have kept Jack up there. He was the only one that was able to keep up with Doctor when it comes to technology, after all.

Then the Doctor send Rose away. He doesn’t think of how that will make her feel being left behind. Apparently, he doesn’t have enough faith in her that she’ll find a way to come back. (Though, maybe he knew that this is how it would happen–apparently he can see everything all of the time, but I’m not sure how that would work…) The fact that Rose comes back is my favourite thing. She doesn’t let the Doctor push her around. She makes it clear that it’s her life and her choice. Wish I could say the Doctor learns from this but…

And then there’s all the supporting characters. Poor Lynda who didn’t stand a chance once Rose was back. The Doctor easily could have asked her to stay up there as well but he didn’t. Apparently only promises to mothers to keep people safe count. The couple that help run the games was upsetting. What is it with Doctor Who and killing romances before they can begin? And then there’s all the folks on floor 0. I still find the Daleks more humorous than scary (I mean, look at them), but even I get a twinge of fear in this episode when the Daleks start making their way to floor 0.

There’s so many other things I’d like to talk about: how Mickey comes running back despite the way he’d left the last time, the moment when Jackie realizes that she owes the Doctor for making sure her husband didn’t die alone and for letting her daughter get to meet her father, the character growth of Jack and what it was like to be left, the kiss. But that would take forever. This episode is super rich in details that you don’t necessarily notice the first time, which makes it so perfect for this rewatch like the look in Eccleston’s eyes as he kisses Rose. *fans self*

Favourite Quotes

“I’m the Doctor, and if there’s one thing I can do, it’s talk.  I’ve got five billion languages and you haven’t got one way of stopping me, so if anybody’s going to shut up IT’S YOU!” – the Doctor

“Wish I’d never met you, Doctor. I was much better being a coward.” – Jack Harkness

“So this is what you should do: let the TARDIS die. Just let this old box gather dust. No one can open it, no one will even notice it. Let it become a strange little thing standing on a street corner. And over the years, the world will move on, and the box will be buried. And if you wanna remember me, then you can do one thing. That’s all, one thing. Have a good life. Do that for me, Rose. Have a fantastic life.” – the Doctor

“It was a better life. And I don’t mean all the travelling and seeing aliens and spaceships and things, that don’t matter. The Doctor showed me a better way of living your life. You know, he showed you too. That you don’t just give up, you don’t just let things happen, you…make a stand, you say no! You have the guts to do what’s right when everyone else just runs away.” – Rose Tyler

“I am the Bad Wolf. I create myself.” – Rose Tyler

image

“You were fantastic. Absolutely fantastic. And you know what? So was I.” – the Doctor

“New teeth…that’s weird.” -the Doctor (post-regeneration)

deaths: basically…everyone

fantastics: 4 (most of any episode and honestly he doesn’t say it that much…)

Unsung Hero: Jackie Tyler (and I really want to know why Roderigo owes her…)

Starting Wednesday it’s time to allons-y with David Tennant as the Doctor. My posts are about to get a whole lot less coherent.

djkfld;ajk; so pretty

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 1×13

  1. Samantha says:

    This episode gives me all the feelings. No matter how many times I watch it (and Season 1 is the season that I rewatch A LOT out of all the new ones). ALL. THE. FEELINGS.

    • megtao says:

      It is definitely a feeling kind of episode. I cried even though I knew what would happen and knew that he was still there inside of Ten…

  2. Loved this episode. You’re right, there are so many amazing details to catch on the rewatch

Leave a Reply

