[Top Ten Tuesday] Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope People Are Still Reading In 30 Years

Top Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope People Are Still Reading In 30 Years

hosted by Broke and the Bookish

Wow, that is a really long time period…like so many books were published in the past ten years. So, this might not necessarily be my top ten, but they were the first ten that came to mind.

The Bermudez Triangle10. The Bermudez Triangle by Maureen Johnson

Maureen Johnson is one of my idols, so I would love to see her books still being read in the future. Of all her books, this one has my favourite message, so that’s why I chose it.

9. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

This is one of those books that I want everyone to read. Everyone. Including those who aren’t born yet.

Looking for Alaska8. Looking for Alaska by John Green

This is more that I want to see future generations of nerdfighters…

7. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

This is one of those magical books that I think children no matter how many years in the future will enjoy.

Terrier (Beka Cooper, #1)6. Terrier by Tamora Pierce

Pierce is one of my favourite authors ever, and I know that she’ll continue to popular 30 years from now. I hope generations of girls will grow up reading her stories.

5. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I don’t feel like I really need to explain this one. Some parts of our history really shouldn’t be forgotten and some messages need to continue to be told.

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks4. The Disreputable History of Frankie-Landau Banks by E. Lockhart

This is the kind of book I want to see on school book lists 30 years from now. It’s time for a new kind of high school literary canon.

3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Who doesn’t want their friend’s book to become a classic?

Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1)2. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Hopefully in thirty years this book will be average fare, and by that I mean kick ass feminist heroines.

1. Harry Potter series (books 4-7)

I’m 100% sure that these books will still be being read in 30 years, but if they’re not I will cry because it means the world has become so much less awesome.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4)Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6)Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope People Are Still Reading In 30 Years

  1. Candice says:

    Great list! Several of these I haven’t read but have really wanted to… ANNNND I’m glad to see a lot of forward thinking, pro-woman awesome books on here! Future girls need these books!

  2. Looking for Alaska and Inkheart … Inkheart is truly a timeless fairy tale and deserves to be read over and over. Frankly, anything John Green does is gold in my eyes (fellow nerd fighter here), and I had actually flirted with Will Grayson, Will Grayson but hope that in 30 years the issue of a gay teen will no longer be noteworthy.

  3. Okay, you know your list is good when it makes me want to go back and revise mine! Love the Frankie Landau-Banks, love the Maureen Johnson, love Graceling… so many favorites!

  4. Love your choices! Nerdfighters unite!

    Check out my Top Ten!

  5. Oryx & Crake is the first Margaret Atwood book I read and I really enjoyed it! Have you read The Year Of The Flood yet? I haven’t read Cinder yet either, but hopefully I’ll get to that soon as well. I included Will Grayson Will Grayson on my list and I have yet to read another John Green novel. I know I’m so behind! And yay for including Harry Potter!! I will cry if people stop reading those books. Great List by the way :)

  6. Lisa says:

    SO VERY HAPPY to see Oryx and Crake on here! LOVED that book.

  7. I love your list! I really need to read The Book Thief. And Maureen Johnson. And more John Green. Actually, I don’t think I’m reading enough, because I’ve found quite a few books that are going onto my already ridiculously huge TBR pile.

  8. Great list! I totally agree with everything on the list (and I’m sure the Book Theif, and Harry Potter will be timeless classics) except for Inkheart. I’m going to be in the unpopular opinion camp because it looks like I’m the only one who couldn’t stand that book.

  9. We totally SHOULD be bffs. I loved so many of these books! Graceling, Frankie Landau-Banks, Terrier, HARRY POTTER, Cinder. Such great choices. The Bermudez Triangle is still on my TBR, though, as is The Book Thief. I’m really looking forward to reading those, too. :-)

Leave a Reply

