Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 2×2

This is a twice a week feature (Wednesdays and Fridays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post as well! Allons-y!

New Earth by Russell T. Davies

Rose and New-New Doctor head off to New Earth where the grass smells like apples and the nurses are cat nuns. But these nuns have a secret and they’re not the only ones hiding something in the deep corners of the hospital…

P.S. prepare for lots of David Tennant gifs that are basically unrelated to what I’m talking about…but I can’t help it. He’s so gorgeous.

It’s official. Season 2 is really Russell T Davies’s master plot to explode the ovaries of woman kind. Seriously. I mean, we open up with the Doctor laying on the grass looking up at the sky (with lots of face close ups!) and then you put him through a shower? It’s not fair. It’s SO NOT FAIR. I’m sure I’m not the only one who wanted to trade places with Rose!Cassandra as she dug her hands into that glorious head of hair. Unf.

Now that my fangirling is out of the way, consistency wise I have a few issues with this episode. Issue 1: When Cassandra transfers over to the Doctor for the first time there’s a line where she says something about being a man and having all these “parts.” She sounds surprised by the experience, but in The End of the World it’s specifically stated that Cassandra was born a boy. Issue 2: When the Doctor is getting everyone together to create his cocktail of life, he calls Cassandra Rose. Okay, so he’s a bit distracted, but this man is a complete and utter genius. Would he really forget that Rose was being possessed by Cassandra? Issue 3: Cassandra’s sudden change of heart at the end. One second she’s all like “LOL never dying I’ll just possess Chip” and the next she’s “dying is good…I’m okay with this.” I have whiplash now.

Other than that, this episode has a lot going for it. The acting by David, Billie, and whoever plays Chip is pretty spectacular. I love the dialogue. And the whole what-constitutes-life thing is really interesting. Not sure if this was on purpose, but this brings to mind the controversy on animal testing, which I honestly haven’t heard much about lately. I think because it’s a topic people are uncomfortable talking about, but that’s why Doctor Who is so great–it can bring up those topics in new ways.

Finally, I’d like to mention a couple character things I’d noticed in my rewatch. First of all, Ten is super arrogant. He’s very loud and very in charge and I suddenly understand why Eleven has all the problems that he does. Secondly, Rose is so horrible to Mickey. She’s sending so many mixed messages and I don’t understand why Mickey continues to put up with it. Third, Rose is so in love with the Doctor and he is so in love with her. Seriously, it hurts to see them smile at each other because it’s so perfect.

Favourite Quotes

“Can I just say, travelling with you–I love it.” – Rose Tyler

“Give her back to me.” – the Doctor

number of times Meghan cried while watching this episode: 2

sorrys: 3

new irrational fears: hospitals and cats

fanfic prompts: New Humans mythology on the Doctor and Cassandra–those who brought life to them

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 2×2

  1. I feel like all I do lately is vent about how horrible Rose is to Mickey. And I really like Rose so that makes me sad. But seriously girl, he told you he’d wait until you told him not to, so TELL HIM NOT TO! Be fair.

  2. Elizabeth R says:

    I think that is my problem with the tenth doctor, he is too arrogant for his own good. Mind you all the Doctor’s are arrogant in their own ways, but ten really pushed my buttons. I think that reason that Rose likes the Doctor so much is because he can always offer her something new and exciting and Mickey can’t. It was sad to see him wait for her, knowing that she is going to go off with the Doctor anyway.

    • megtao says:

      Oh yeah, I think 99/100 people would choose the Doctor over Mickey, but yeah, I do feel bad for him. And most of the time I love the Doctor’s arrogance, which I see as mainly confidence. Except when it hurts people…like in the case of Harriet Jones.

Leave a Reply

