[review] Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard

18-year-old Bria is off to Central America where she hopes to discover adventure and escape her past self. Instead she finds Rowan.

WanderloveWanderlove is the perfect summer read, and you are sure to get a case of wonderlove yourself upon reading.

The descriptions are completely immersing. You’ll feel as if you are travelling right along with Bria. As an added bonus, images drawn by “Bria” are found throughout the text. It makes you feel as if you’re reading more than a book: you’re sharing someone’s journey.

On that note, the characters in this book are wonderful. They all have different sides, good and bad. They have pasts and complications and muscles that you want to stroke… Okay, that last one is mostly Rowan. Speaking of which…

Dear Rowan,

While I’m not normally a fan of the bad boy thing…okay, that’s a lie. I totally fall for the bad boy thing. But, generally I fall for the evil guy thing not the stupid choice thing, and you’re more of the stupid choice thing. But I’m okay with that. Because you’re hot. And you know how to travel. I’d like to spend some time in a hammock with you.

XOXO

Coffee & Wizards

recommended to fans of travelling and especially those looking for some slightly older protagonists

not recommended to those who prefer black and white characters

Books with similar aspects

Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Girl at Sea by Maureen Johnson

Don’t just take my word for it!

“I loved this book guys. It was one of the most enjoyable contemps I’ve read so far this year.” –Amy @ Tripping Over Books

“…the magic of Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard is in the joy of discovering for yourself just how broken young people like Bria and Rowan put themselves back together again.” –April @ Good Books and Good Wine

“Wanderlove isn’t just about finding love while trecking in Guatemala – it’s about perspective, and realizing that life isn’t, in fact, offering you an all-or-nothing deal.” – Katya

“Overall, I really liked Wanderlove. It’s gorgeously written, I identified with Bria and really connected to her as a character.” –Reut @ Reut Reads

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [review] Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard

  1. Yay, Wanderlove!! I loved Bria so much. I love reading books about young people who are starting to understand that the things you thought you wanted as a kid might be changing, and I love when straight-laced kids let their hair down a little. Also, ROWAN. I’ll fight you over that hammock time, Meg. 🙂 Thanks for the linky shout out, too ❤

Leave a Reply

