Recommend A…Book with a Bad Boy

This is a new meme hosted by Chick Loves Lit that caught my eye. Basically, every Monday there’s a new prompt which you use to recommend an awesome book. There’s not much I love more than recommending a good book, except maybe having a good book recommended to me!

This week’s prompt is to recommend a book with a bad boy, so I chose…Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore!

Bitterblue (Graceling Realm, #3)The aforementioned bad boy is named Saf (short for Sapphire, which pushes all the right Sailor Moon buttons for me). A Robin Hood-like thief, he also has some Cassanova tendencies and a temper that could keep you warm during a blizzard.

Beyond the bad boy, Bitterblue is a brilliant book. It’s a fantasy novel that addresses contemporary themes, especially woman-focused issues.  It is a companion novel to Cashore’s other novels, Graceling and Fire, both of which I recommend reading before picking up Bitterblue. I fully recommend this to any reader, but especially those who enjoy fantasy and strong female characters. My full review should be up this Thursday, so I hope you’ll look forward to it

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in recommend a and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Recommend A…Book with a Bad Boy

  1. Alyssa says:

    I just laughed so hard “who pushes all the right Sailor Moon buttons for me” is amazing. I have actually heard great things about this one and we just got it in at work so I might have to pick it up!

  2. Candice says:

    Saf was kind of a bad boy, wasn’t he? And I totally don’t remember Sapphire from Sailor Moon. Must look into this! Looking forward to your review of Bitterblue and what you thought of it!

  3. Mary says:

    I like this one! Good recent pick! Robin Hood is such a good starting point – a great classic “bad boy”!

    We went a little more vintage with Marcus flutie 🙂

  4. I read Graceling about a month and a half ago, and for the most part, loved it! I can’t wait to read Fire, but especially Bitterblue. EEK I’m so excited. I should see if my library has either of them. Also, I loved the Sailor Moon reference 😉

    My recommend a … book with a bad boy post.

  5. I really want to read this series! I’ve got Graceling on my Kindle and am trying to find the time to read it…sigh.

    Here’s my Recommend A… post!

    Wendy @ Escape Into Fiction

  6. Tamara says:

    Duuuude I’ve been waiting for your review of BITTERBLUE since I read it!

Leave a Reply

