[Top Ten Tuesday] Ten Books I Want to Reread

Top Ten Books I Want to Reread

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

With so many new books to read, it’s hard to go back to old favourites. There are some books I want to reread so badly that I’ve considered turning it into a challenge just to give myself the excuse to do so. Here are the top ten books/series on my “please let me reread these soon” list.

Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1)10. Seven Kingdoms series by Kristin Cashore

I know I just read these…but my goodness they are so good. I try not to read the same book twice in a year so that personal rule is literally the only thing keeping me from grabbing them and devouring them once again.

9. Lord of the Rings series by J. R. R. Tolkien

I haven’t read these books since the movies came out. Now that I’m older, I wonder if I would appreciate them more? Probably not. But I figure I should give it a try before The Hobbit comes out.

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 8. Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series by Ann Brasheres

I still haven’t read the newest one (no spoilers please!!!), but I’ve been waiting to reread the originals first. Unfortunately, I lent out my copies and am not quite sure what happened to them…

7. An Abundance of Katherines & Paper Towns by John Green

My friend bought me these for my 20th birthday. I am now 22. I really, really want to reread these. Especially Paper Towns so that I can try to understand why it’s some of my friends favourite of Green’s novels.

Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness, #1)6. Everything by Tamora Pierce ever

No really. I want to reread all of her books. I guess I could get away with not reading the Beka Cooper trilogy because I JUST read those, but everything else…I really want to read. Especially her Tortall series.

5. Feed by Mira Grant

I’ve been wanting to reread this since I purchased Deadline and now Blackout is out and I still haven’t found the time to read either! It’s getting to the point where I feel guilty when I look over at my book shelf.

Anna and the French Kiss4. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I’ve had this book circulating through all my friends, and for the first in over a year it is back in my hands. Of course, I immediately wanted to devour it, but sadly I have several other books with due dates sitting in the wings. Étienne will have to wait.

3. The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

I’ve yet to read the two newest in the series because I’ve been waiting for the series to end so that I can reread everything and blow through what will probably be close to 20,000 pages in one (really long) go. But now I can’t find the time to reread the earlier ones! (Plus most of my copies are falling apart. Thankfully I picked up a couple at a recent book sale and I managed to dig out my old copies from storage, so maybe I’ll start this sometime soon…)

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)2. The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I’ve been wanting to reread these for awhile now, but I didn’t want them to be too fresh in my mind before watching the movie. Now that I’ve seen the movie I want to reread them even more. It’ll be my first time rereading since I’ve read Mockingjay, and I wonder what new things I’ll pick up on.

1. The Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling

I started rereading Philosopher’s Stone in line at the Deathly Hallows 2 premiere, but haven’t had the time to read any further. This is seriously depressing because I haven’t gone back to Hogwarts by book in well over two years. If I don’t reread these soon I may cry.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] Ten Books I Want to Reread

  1. These are great choices! I also have been meaning to reread Feed in anticipation of Deadline and Blackout, but I lent my copy to my brother. And Tamora Pierce books are always due for a reread. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your TTT! (I did characters I’d name my kids after here: http://wp.me/pN3dG-gn)!

  2. Candice says:

    Something I’ve kind of disliked since I’ve started blogging is the lack of time to reread my favorite books. Like there’s something so comforting about curling up with my ratty copy of my favorite book and getting to visit with old friends again. Maybe we should make that a goal: once a month, reread a favorite book. It could be epic! 🙂

  3. It’s so hard to go back and re-read your faves. I hope you get the chance to do it! Candice had a great idea!!
    Here is my Top Ten – Bookish Quotes!

  4. I’ve been terrible at keeping up with the Wheel of Time now that the last books are out and it’s nearly finished. I was reading, crap what’s it called, the one before last, the first Sanderson one, must have been while I was pregnant because I got almost to the end and then put it down and still haven’t finished it! That must have been well over a year ago, and now I’m worried I won’t be able to remember what’s been going on and I don’t want to have to start all over again!

    I would like to re-read them all from the beginning one day. (Not, obviously, to read them all in one day! that would be impossible.) I remember really enjoying them from book 2 through to book 7, which was when I caught up and you had to wait years between them and Jordan’s writing went so downhill.

    Aw you should have re-read the HP series with my reading marathon last year, it was fun!

    • megtao says:

      I started blogging too late to participate or I so would have.

      I remember enough to continue reading, but I really want to go through them all to catch all the tiny threads. Maybe we should reread them together 🙂

  5. Michelle says:

    I want to re-read Harry Potter too!! I haven’t read them since the first time through (which was when they originally came out!)… that’s a long time ago and I’m starting to forget important things!!

    I did Childhood Fav’s

  6. I just finished Feed and it’s so worth a reread! I wanted to flip it back over and start all over again right away. I also just started reading Harry Potter again, now that I’m firmly an adult. I haven’t reread any of the books since the Order of Phenox came out. So far, it’s been an interesting experience.

  7. Amanda says:

    I agree – too many books and too little time! I love re-reading books, however. There are always so many things I miss the first reading or just don’t appreciate as much as I should. I actually just went through a Tamora Pierce re-reading binge at the beginning of this year – definitely worth it! Her books are still some of the best female-driven fantasies. And LotR/The Hobbit in preparation for the movie sounds like a really good idea. I may have to copy you there. I hope you’re able to convince yourself to re-read some of those series in the near future!

  8. Brittany S says:

    I’ve been wanting to reread The Lord of the Rings as well! I read them a long time ago and wasn’t really into the story at all. I’d like to give it another try and see how I feel about it now. I’ve definitely reread HP a few times and it’s always just as good, if not better 🙂

  9. So, catching up on my week of posts to comment on…this list is awesome. I need to reread Graceling, too. In fact, I wanted to reread at least that book before I started Bitterblue, just to refresh my memory. And also because I LOVED it. Tamora Pierce is also fantastic. I’d like to reread all of her books, except I still have so many to read! I’ve only managed the Alanna books and Beka Cooper, although I still need to read Mastiff. And I can’t tell you enough how excellent Anna and the French Kiss is on rereads. It didn’t lose any of it’s sweetness or heart-tugging-ness (making up words, over here!) any of the times I’ve reread it. Same goes for Harry Potter. I think the really great books don’t ever lose their emotional impact even when you know what’s coming.

    • megtao says:

      Why are there so many good books?! I wish I had like a pause button for life so I could just read as much as I wanted without spending any real world time.

Leave a Reply

