[review] Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Warning: Spoilers for Beautiful Creatures ahead.

Ethan had known that the worst was still ahead for him and his new caster girlfriend Lena Duchannes, but what he hadn’t expected was for their biggest enemy to be Lena herself.

Beautiful Darkness (Caster Chronicles, #2)

Beautiful Darkness is one of those books that is okay while you’re reading, but doesn’t leave that much of an impression once you’re done. Things happened. I specifically remember things happening, but I don’t much care about the things that happened.

Which is weird because for the most part there are some pretty solid characters. Not quite as solid as they were in Beautiful Creatures…but still pretty memorable.

If there’s one good thing I can say about this novel it’s that it makes me not hate the ending of Beautiful Creatures quite as much. It seems like there are still things that need to happen and they’re not just happening for the sake of happening.

Pretend there is a comprehensible end to a review here. Or just go back an count how many times I said some form of “happen.”

recommended to those who read Beautiful Creatures and are looking for more of Ethan and co.

not recommended to those searching for above and beyond reads. If you’re short on reading time, you might want to pass this series by.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Although a certain melancholia lingers throughout Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, I felt it was among some of my better reads.”- April @ Good Books and Good Wine

“I was not disappointed.. exactly.” – Reut @ReutReads

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

