Recommend A…trilogy

This is a new meme hosted by Chick Loves Lit that caught my eye. Basically, every Monday there’s a new prompt which you use to recommend an awesome book. There’s not much I love more than recommending a good book, except maybe having a good book recommended to me!

This week’s prompt is to recommend a trilogywhich is fairly difficult because there are A LOT of trilogies out there right now, but I’m going with my first instinct: The Beka Cooper trilogy by Tamora Pierce.

Terrier (Beka Cooper, #1)Bloodhound (Beka Cooper, #2)Mastiff (Beka Cooper, #3)

This is Tamora Pierce’s (one of my all-time favourite author, and one of my first all-time favourite authors) most recent series, though it takes place in her larger Tortall series which includes The Song of the Lioness Quartet, which you may wish to read prior to reading this trilogy.

It follows the life of Beka Cooper a street urchin who is on her way to becoming a cop on the streets she grew up, the toughest streets in the land where the survival of a Puppy (a Dog (Police Officer) in training) is around 50/50. Helpful to her are her special ability to talk to the wind, a strange violet-eyed cat, and the friends she collects along the way.

This series has rich world-building, believable characters, and breath-taking plots, but what really sets it apart (like all of Pierce’s novels) is the treatment of female characters. Looking for female rolemodels? Pierce has plenty. And believe me, by the time you’re done reading the first book, you’ll want more.

Still not convinced? Check out these reviews by me and my blogging buddies!

Terrier
from Almost Grown-Up

Bloodhound
from Almost Grown-Up

Mastiff
from ME
from Almost Grown-Up

If you’ve already read the Beka Cooper trilogy, I’d love to hear what you love about it (try to keep it spoiler free please!), and if you haven’t read it yet, I would like your blood-promise that you will do so immediately.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in recommend a and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Recommend A…trilogy

  1. Great recommendation! I just added it to my TBR list this morning. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Here’s my Recommend A… post!

    Wendy @ Escape Into Fiction

  2. Oh man, I totally need to read these books, like Tamora Pierce seems like she is totally up my alley, I’ve only ever read Alanna — the first book that is.

    • megtao says:

      I can’t believe you haven’t read more of her books. Not only is she right up your alley but she’s waving an April flag that reads “I AM THE PERFECT AUTHOR FOR YOU.” There’s even some sexy times in some of them, I think. You’ll have to read them all to find out which ones XD

  3. Candice says:

    I’ve seen so many people (especially you!) talk about Tamora Pierce’s books. I may just have to give them a try!

  4. Alyssa says:

    I can’t believe I haven’t read these and I have to say the “violet eyed cat” is pretttyyy awesome!! Maybe I will get to these this summer!

  5. I really need to read these books! She just has so many I have no idea where to start. Out of all her books which one should I read first?

    • megtao says:

      Start with the Songs of the Lioness Quartet (first book is called Alanna: The First Adventure), then the Beka Cooper trilogy, then the Immortal quartet, then the Protector of the Small quartet, then the Daughter of the Lioness duo. Or you could read Beka Cooper after the Daughter of the Lioness.

      After you’re done the Tortall books, you should check out her Circle of Magic books.

  6. Amanda says:

    I am almost done with Terrier and have copies of Bloodhound and Mastiff ready to go! I absolutely adore Pierce’s books and strong female heroines. Her fantasy series are always so well done. I’m enjoying Terrier, but it’s making me kind of nostalgic for the golden-age Tortall of Alanna, Daine, and Kel. But it is interesting to read about an earlier Tortall from the perspective of non-nobles, and I like how the crime-fighting and mystery-solving aspects. Beka is pretty awesome and I can’t wait to see what adventures she has in the second and third installments!

    • megtao says:

      I think in Mastiff they start showing the beginning of what will become Alanna’s society, and it’s really interesting getting to see the transition. It really feels as if you’re watching the history of a real society unfolding.

  7. I read Alanna when it first came out but haven’t picked up any of the others yet. At this point I should probably re-read Alanna before going on to the next book, as a refresher. The Beka Cooper series looks good!

    • megtao says:

      Ohhh that was awhile ago, wasn’t it? I feel like that was awhile ago. I wish I was able to say that. You should definitely read the rest, and The Beka Cooper series is good!

  8. Mary says:

    Sold! I loved the terminology in this world and Beka’s unique slang. Especially when she was just a “pup”!

  9. I had seen the cover of Mastiff once before, and I was intrigued. However, now I am completely convinced that I must check this series out! Thanks for recommending!

Leave a Reply

