[Fantastic Five Friday] Five Favourite Movie Scores

Fantastic Five Friday is a new weekly meme hosted by Anna at The Weekly Enthusiast. You can take part even if you don’t have your own blog: just comment on her FFF post of the week!

 Five Favourite Movie Scores

I am not a big music person, so this is kind of tough for me because I so rarely notice the music in a movie. Now songs from movies I could totally do, but that’s not quite the same thing, is it?

5. Howl’s Moving Castle

Joe Hisaishi is one of my favourite composers and he’s done the music for many of Miyazaki’s films. This one is my favourite, and I can’t tell you how many times I’ve listened to it. I love the way the music flows up and down like your emotions do while watching this movie, jumping and twirling like a beautiful dance.

4. Pirates of the Caribbean

I will hear parts of this song in the trailers of other movies and immediately recognize it. It also makes me feel like I’m on an adventures, which I like.

3. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

Maybe it’s because I just rewatched this movie yesterday, but the score is in my head. It fits so well with the feel of the movie and the setting of the movie and the use of violons (or at the very least…string instruments) is perfection.

2. Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

This was the first soundtrack that I was obsessed with. Howard Shore remains the only composure I can name off the top of my head. I still get chills when listening to it.

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Like LotR, all of the scores from all of these movies are completely magical to me. One of my favourite parts of the Wizarding World of Harry Potter was getting to listen to different scores just while walking around. The music helps to create the Wizarding World in the movies, and whenever I hear the music I feel like I’m there. I feel that at last I’m home.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in fantastic five friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [Fantastic Five Friday] Five Favourite Movie Scores

  1. Candice says:

    “whenever I hear the music I feel like I’m there. I feel that at last I’m home” Ohhh yes! That’s how I feel about HP music too! There’s something just so perfect about it. Great list and other choices! I love movie scores and these all have fantastic ones!

  2. Elizabeth R says:

    I love the scores from HP and LOTR but one of my favorites is the score from Pride and Prejudice from 2005. The music stays with me for hours after I’ve watched the movie.

  3. Tamara says:

    Ooo, I always loved the HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON soundtrack. And the ALICE IN WONDERLAND one (Tim Burton version). And, of course of course of course, Doctor Who Series Five. So obsessed. So very, very obsessed.

Leave a Reply

