[review] Shay’s Story by Scott Westerfeld

Shay can’t wait to be Pretty, but then she meets Zane and the other Crims, and they introduce her to David who opens her eyes to truth behind the Ugly-Pretty system.

Uglies: Shay's Story (Uglies: Graphic Novel)There seems to be a new trend of creating manga series of popular YA series, and to be honest I’m not a big fan of it. But I am a fan of Scott Westerfeld, so I thought I’d give it a try. I wouldn’t say that it was necessarily worth it.

As far as new information went, there really wasn’t much, which is what I’d been hoping for, but to make matters worst, it didn’t have enough of the original information to make it comprehensible to those who hadn’t read the original series. The only thing that it did was make me feel more sympathetic to Shay, who I’d always felt was more interesting than she was given the chance to show in the original series.

Another issue I had was that the characters were much too pretty, verging on natural Pretties. I didn’t expect them to be ugly, but I did expect them to be Ugly, and I feel like that wasn’t accomplished in the artwork.

Books with similar aspects

Maximum Ride, Vol 1 by James Patterson

Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Vol 1 by Stephenie Meyer

City of Bones: The Graphic Novel by Cassandra Clare

recommended to fans of the Uglies series looking for more interaction with Shay

not recommended to those who haven’t yet read the original trilogy

You’ll have to take my word for it…

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book cover and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [review] Shay’s Story by Scott Westerfeld

  1. Tamara says:

    Bummer! Scottie-boy was so excited about this book coming out. Don’t judge me, but I loved the TWILIGHT graphic novels because they were so pretty! I drew my own comic for my bff’s birthday using the TWILIGHT graphic novel art as inspiration.

  2. Oh, I hate when they do that to books via graphic novels, basically just rehash the story in picture form instead of adding something new. Although on the other hand I guess it’s a good thing in that it draws in a different crowd of readers.

    • megtao says:

      Yeah, there is the different kind of reader thing, and if it does encourage the more reluctant reader to get into maybe a full out novel, that’s good too. But as an already active reader, I didn’t feel it was really worth my time.

  3. Oh le sad. This is pretty much the only book turned graphic novel that I was somewhat interested. Disappointed that it wasn’t better and didn’t add much to the story

Leave a Reply

