Recommend a…book that made you emotional

This is a new meme hosted by Chick Loves Lit that caught my eye. Basically, every Monday there’s a new prompt which you use to recommend an awesome book. There’s not much I love more than recommending a good book, except maybe having a good book recommended to me!

This week’s prompt is to recommend a book that made you emotional, and I immediately knew what book I had to choose even though it is so ridiculously obvious that I feel so unoriginal for choosing it. I am, of course, speaking of The Fault in our Stars by John Green. If for some reason you have not read it yet, here’s why you need to.

The Fault in Our StarsJohn Green is one of my favourite authors, not only because of his books but because of the nerdfighting community him and his brother Hank Green began. If I was only going to buy one book for myself this year, it would have been this book.

The summary says this book is about Hazel Grace, a sixteen year old girl with thyroid cancer and her meeting with Augustus Waters. But that can’t explain what this is. This book is meeting a new friend and watching them learn to live again. This book is falling in love slowly and then all at once. This book is laughing and then crying and then laughing while crying until you’re not sure how you feel any more but you do know that you are certainly, oh so certainly, feeling. This book is discovering that “okay” means everything.

This book made me emotional in all the ways. I laughed out loud while reading, which I hardly ever do. I cried through a good sixty pages, which I NEVER do. Have you ever tried to read through tears because you don’t want to take the time to stop to wipe your eyes? Read this book and you will.

Still not convinced? Check out these five-star reviews from me and my blogging buddies!

Let me know what you thought of this book in the comments (no spoilers please!), and if you haven’t read this book, please tell me WHY AND THEN GO READ IT.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in recommend a and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Recommend a…book that made you emotional

  1. Tamara says:

    I’ve tried to like John Green. I’ve really, really tried. But because I don’t, I don’t trust him to take me through such a hugely emotional journey. It’d be bearable to read about cancer if you liked the characters and the writing, but because I know I won’t, I don’t think I could handle it. Sorry bb, but this one’s not for me :(

  2. Candice says:

    I really want to read this one, but I don’t know if my heart can take an emotional book at the moment! Maybe in the fall… I feel like fall is the best time to get emotional! :)

  3. Mary says:

    I think this is the third rec for Fault in Our Stars Ive seen! Thats remarkable! Go John Green!

  4. Elisquared says:

    Yep, this is my pick too. In this book, you feel all the feelings. I scared the crap out of my sister because I just burst into tears while reading on the couch. Such a good book, making it well worth the tears!

  5. This is a very cool meme! I can see myself joining this one!
    I’m going to try to read a book every two days this summer, and I brought Fault in Our Stars down in my crate of books to grad school. Can’t wait to have a good cry!

    • megtao says:

      Oh nice goal! I’m going for about 100-300 pages a day, depending if I work that day or whatever, so it depends how long the book I’m reading is how many I read. Monsters of Men took me a couple days…

  6. The person in the linky before you recommended this book as well! I have had it on my shelf since release day but am waiting until I feel in the right state of mind before I read it. I have heard almost nothing but great things so I am looking forward to that day!

    Thanks for participating this week :)

  7. Really popular book, I’m sold!

  8. My eyes were so red when I read this book. Like everyone else, I couldn’t stop sobbing.

  9. This one hits too close to home for me. I work at a children’s hospital and see this kinda thing each day – it breaks my heart!

  10. I was given this book as a just because gift by a friend who ended up with two signed copies. I am ever grateful to her for it.

    This is probably the only book I had to put it down because it just was too close to home. There’s a scene early on with Hazel in the ICU. They’re pumping fulid out of her lungs. And I just broke. In the three years since the death of my family member from lung cancer, I hadn’t thought much about the whole experience. But reading this book, suddenly I was there, sitting by her bedside, wondering, is this the end? Remember all the jokes we were cracking about the liters of liquid extracted from her lungs. Realizing she was suffocating and how painful it was. So I saw on my sofa and cried for a hour. I wasn’t sure I could I could finish the book. I wasn’t sure I wanted to deal with all those emotions again. But when I calmed down, I realized something. I needed to finish this book. How could I not after I was so profoundly affected? And I did. It’s an amazing book, and that’s really all I can say about it.

Leave a Reply

