[Top Ten Tuesday] Ten Characters that Remind Me of Myself

Top Ten Characters Who Remind Me of Myself

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

I know the original adds “or someone you know” but come on… I’m too much of a narcissist to do that.

Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely, #1)10. Donia from the Wicked Lovely series by Melissa Marr

I am totally the kind of girl who would risk everything for a guy, get completely screwed over, and still be in love with him. Not to mention the whole “protecting others” thing. Oh, and the whole duty before love thing. I also have my moments of that. Plus, I’m Canadian so Winter is like…in my veins.

9. Gwen from The Hunter’s Moon by O. R. Melling

I’ve always been the tag-along when it comes to adventures. I would definitely be the girl who’s too scared to go along and then has to rescue someone she loves. That is the only way to bring out my fierceness.

Fruits Basket, Vol. 58. Kagura from the Fruits Basket series by Natsuki Takaya

I almost chose Yuki, but he’s way too popular to be me. I relate to Kagura’s big sister protectiveness and her unrequited love thing. Also, I totally have (a lesser version of) her mood swings where I can go from sweet and innocent and shy to BITING YOUR FREAKING HEAD OFF and then back to innocent again.

7. Georgia from Feed by Mira Grant

I totally relate to Georgia’s want to tell the truth and her love of writing. Otherwise…she’s completely too bamf to be me.

The Scorpio Races6. Sean from The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

I’m definitely the quiet type who likes to get their stuff done and then get out again. Also, completely oblivious of other people’s feelings? Yupp, that’s me. I wonder if this is why I loved him so much…

5. Shelby from Purity by Jackson Pearce

I don’t need Shelby’s rules to feel the need to always listen to my parents. Plus, I’m totally the kind of girl that’s like meh I don’t really care if I have sex, but if you take away my option to choose to have sex all of a sudden I’m like “MUST FIND WAY TO HAVE SEX.” Because I do not like when my options disappear. Also, if my mom died I’d totally have the same father-communicating issues as her.

Even if It Kills Me4. Melanie from Even If It Kills Me by Dorothy Joan Harris

This was the first character that I ever remember going OH MY GOD SHE’S ME, though part of that might have been this cover and my sudden love of jean… But really, this book had me terrified that I would getting an eating disorder because I’m a complete perfection and perfect student, and if I ever got it into my head to lose weight I would totally turn it into a competition with myself. Being aware of how susceptible I was to this probably saved me from going down that road, actually.

3. Ami Mizuno from the Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon series by Naoko Takeuchi

I basically form my entire identity around the fact that I am Ami-chan. I am the quiet, smart girl of the group and would prefer to protect than attack.

Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1)2. Katsa from Graceling/Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore

Katsa has all of my feelings towards the world in general. Like…marriage and babies, most of the time they’re really not my thing. Would I put myself in great danger to protect someone important to me or someone I love? Where do I sign up? And believe me, no one holds a grudge better than I do.

1. Hermione Granger of the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

Other than Ami-chan, this is the character that forms my identity (Remus is a close second from the series). I even went through the same growth process as her from shy to much more take charge. I think, however, I would fall in love with the red head brother-like character. I like my guys to be more far off…and blonde.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] Ten Characters that Remind Me of Myself

  1. Mary says:

    I like your Wicked Lovely. Oh Canada! That made me laugh. Summer is in my veins… Ive just been repressing that for ten years!

  2. Thank you for giving me a moment or two to get nostalgic over Donia… and since I just started reading Scorpio Races, last night, now I have a keen interest in Sean. First time top-tenner.

  3. Candice says:

    You crack me up with your whole “I’m Canadian so winter is in my veins” line! I wish it was in my veins; the high down here is around 100 degrees! Great list; I can see a lot of you in these characters (you know… for as much as I know you from your blog!)!!!

  4. Amazing list! Hermione made my list as well and Katsa is one of my favorite characters, so I love your picks!

    ~Keertana
    Ivy Book Bindings

  5. Haha, these were great choices! It may be because they are the two I’m most familiar with, but putting down Kagura and Ami gave me a pretty clear idea of your personality (at least, I think so)! I always thought of myself as a Rei. 🙂 Oh, and Hermoine was a great choice as well. Could totally see her becoming a book blogger!

  6. reutreads says:

    Hermione. Classic! You’ve also reminded me that I MUST finish Fruits Basket! I already know how everything ends but I need to finish.

  7. Hermione and Georgia are wonderful choices! I don’t really know the others though.

  8. aimee says:

    I never thought about it before, but reading your blurb about Donia actually did remind me of you. Though I love that you used Canada = winter as a reason. (Meg = the Canadian Faerie Queen!)

    YOU ARE TOTALLY KAGURA OMG. (Now I’m tempted to reread Fruits Basket just to assign characters to everyone I know. Because there are so many characters in that amazing manga and I bet there is one that reminds me of everyone.) Though you really do share traits with Yuki. I think the inside of my brain is a Yuki/Kyo hybrid, but I’m pretty sure I’m not like them much at all. Actually, I’d probably have to reread Fruits Basket just to find a character I really identify with.

    And YES, you will always be Ami-chan. And Hermione. *needs to find you a Draco*

    *also needs to read every other book you mentioned because I do not know them or those characters*

Leave a Reply

