[review] How to be popular by Meg Cabot

Stephanie Landry has spent her life paying for one teensy, tiny mistake. She’s sick and tired of being the school outcast, so when she discovers a book titled “How to be Popular” she creates the perfect popular plan. But soon she realizes she has to choose between popularity and the people who have always made her feel like part of the group.

How to Be PopularI listened to this as an audiobook and it was a fantastic light and fun listen. The voice actress, Kate Reinders, was wonderful, and if you ever have the option to listen to one of the audiobooks she narrates, I fully recommend it.

This is about a fairly common high school experience. As a slightly older and more mature reader, I was able to look at Steph and her choices and not only empathize with her, but understand where she was going wrong (or right). I think Meg Cabot did a good job of creating a very real person in Steph. Too often protagonists become this artificially perfect people, but Steph doesn’t fall into this trap, which added to my enjoyment of the book.

Books with similar aspects

 Royally Jacked by Niki Burnham

Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart

recommended to someone looking for a fun contemporary read

not recommended to someone looking for something super thought-provoking

You’ll have to take my word for it!

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to [review] How to be popular by Meg Cabot

  1. Meg Cabot books would make great audio books, wouldn’t they. I’ve gone to my public library a few times, looking for a good audiobook, but their selection is VERY limited. I’ve tried a few, and only one – a short historical romance – worked well for me. I have to have something quiet to do with my hands, like sewing, and no interruptions. That set-up doesn’t come by often! So I don’t generally listen to audiobooks, but I keep a note of which ones people recommend – and narrators are really important too aren’t they. I’ve heard though that Matthew Macfayden (sp?) is an excellent narrator, but I’m not sure what books he’s recorded.

    • megtao says:

      Does your library have e-audiobooks? My library is connected with overdrive and their selection of e-audiobooks is a lot larger than their selection of physical audiobooks. Also, you might be able to search was he’s recorded on goodreads (though, you’ll need to know how to spell his name first).

    • megtao says:

      they’re basically audiobooks that you download online rather than physical CDs or cassettes. I’m sure if you googled Overdrive there’d be more about it.

  2. Ahhh, I ❤ Meg Cabot's books. Pants on Fire was a really cute/funny contemp as well, if you're looking for a similar feel, but I don't think I've read this one! Hmmm.

  3. aimee says:

    Oh man, it’s been AGES since I’ve read this. I kind of miss Meg Cabot’s contemporaries. I was probably closer to Steph’s age when I read it, but I definitely know what you mean – Steph was a pretty realistic teenager, and it wasn’t hard to empathize with her at all (even when some of her decisions were… wrong).

    (Your audio book reviews are really making me want to start listening to some. I don’t think I really have before…)

  4. I think Meg Cabot does a really great job of getting the reader to empathize with the character, even when the character is making a mistake. Sigh. I really liked How To Be Popular when I read it, glad the audiobook is good!

Leave a Reply

