[review] Fly on the Wall by E. Lockhart

When Gretchen Yee wished that she could be a fly on the wall in the boy’s locker room, she didn’t mean it literally. But somehow that is exactly what has happened, and now Gretchen finds herself learning more about boys, her best friend, and herself than she ever intended.

Fly on the Wall: How One Girl Saw EverythingWhat I love about E. Lockhart’s books is that she takes the ChickLit genre and makes it so awesome that I no longer feel guilty for reading the genre (because sometimes reading a bright pink book gets you some looks. We’re all readers here; you know what kind of look I’m talking about.)

This is a short read and it never takes itself too seriously (come on, the main character TURNS INTO A FLY), but it deals with various important topics expertly, which is why E. Lockart quickly made her way onto my “favourite authors ever” list.

Looking for some multi-culturalism in your books. Boom. We’ve got a non-white protagonist and various ethnicities represented in secondary characters. Tired of sexist representations of women? Only realistic woman can be found in this novel! And some seriously taboo topics are discussed. I mean, she’s in a boy’s locker room. There’s a couple paragraphs dedicated to the description of boy butts. I’m not even kidding. Not to mention the themes of individuality and conformity and the treatment of homosexuality and men who do non “manly” things, which (SURPRISE, SURPRISE) isn’t always the same thing.

It’s short and it’s pink and it has a cover of a fly on the front of it and it is totally and completely awesome. Full recommendation of E. Lockhart and all of her novels past, present, and future.

Books with similar aspects

Boy Meet Boy by David Levithan

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart

recommended to readers looking for a better kind of ChickLit

not recommended to those who are fine not seeing the flaws in many contemporary novels

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Another great book by E. Lockhart. Not my favorite of hers, but still worth your attention.” – the Readventurer

“This is a short read with lots of funny bits and a brilliant main character that holds together an unconventional but inventive plot.” – Bibliotekit

“This one was just okay for me.” – YAnnabe

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [review] Fly on the Wall by E. Lockhart

  1. Wow that is one pink cover!
    I have to admit I giggled a little at the premise of this novel. But I’m happy to hear it has realistic portrayals of women! I’m sade more novels don’t.

    • megtao says:

      It is really pink!

      All novels should have realistic portrayals of women. It’s sad that this is still an issue today. We should be moving on to other things by now. :/

  2. I now officially want to read this book. It sounds hilarious!

Leave a Reply

