[Top Ten Tuesday] Top Ten Books for People who like JK Rowling

Ten Books for the Harry Potter fan

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

It’s hit me and I’m sure it’s hit you: Post-Potter Depression. While there will never be another series quite like Harry Potter, here are some books to help remind that there are new worlds to be found and new characters to fall in love with.

So You Want to Be a Wizard (Young Wizards, #1)10. So You Want to be a Wizard by Diane Duane

Going through wizard school withdrawals? There are ten books in Duane’s Young Wizards series that are sure to help keep the Hogwarts withdrawals at bay.

9. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Kids with cool powers? Check. A sort of clueless chosen one, a super brainy girl side kick, and a brave but humorous relief best friend? Check, check, and check. It’s like the golden trio but with Greek Gods!

Divergent (Divergent, #1)8. Divergent by Veronica Roth

We know that part of the fun of Harry Potter is sorting yourself into one of the Houses. Divergent lets this sorting fun continue when you choose your faction. I suspect I would personally end up in Erudite.

7. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Draco fangirls, do I have the book for you. Just wait until you meet Warner. He is like Draco except more broken, more crazy, and with more daddy issues. AND he totally has a chance to be an ACTUAL LOVE INTEREST. You’re welcome.

The Fault in Our Stars6. The Fault in our Stars by John Green

 Part of what makes the Harry Potter series so great is the fandom that surrounds it. TFIOS is nothing like HP, but the fans that surround it are made of Potter fans. Join us at nerdfighteria and be comforted.

5. Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

Looking for world building and children with special powers that are up against the worst of odds? It’s even got a kind of, sort of school. Kind of.

I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls, #1)4. I’d tell you I love you but then I’d have to kill you by Ally Carter

What’s cooler than a school for witches and wizards? NOTHING. But a school for girl spies comes pretty close! Hermione Granger would be bffs with Liz. And the teachers at this school would have some stories to share with the professors at Hogwarts!

3. Sandry’s Book by Tamora Pierce

Magic, world-building, and memorable characters–everything a good Harry Potter fan needs.

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

It has been called the next Harry Potter, and that’s not because of it’s great popularity (though that probably helps). No, what makes THG comparable to HP is it’s ability to be attractive to both children and adults because of great writing, world-building, characters, and the intelligent and thought-provoking themes. If you haven’t read this series yet because you’re afraid of the hype, don’t let it pass you by. Just make sure you have the next two books on hand for when you finish the first one

1. The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

It’s a classic for a reason. They called Harry Potter the next Narnia, so going back to see why couldn’t be a bad decision.

What books did you use to help get over your post-Potter depression?

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] Top Ten Books for People who like JK Rowling

  1. Angel says:

    POST-POTTER DEPRESSION ;____; I haven’t heard of some of these books, but I’m definitely going to add them to my TBR soon!

  2. Great list! I’ve only read Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and I definitely agree that people who like J.K. Rowling’s works will enjoy that series =)

    Here’s my TTT for this week =)

  3. Fantastic list! I’ve actually read all of these books after Potter, so they definitely ring true! :)

    ~Keertana
    Ivy Book Bindings

  4. I feel like the post Potter depression will be a life long thing.

    And I still have not read Tamora Pierce’s books. I need to fix this ASAP! (and I realize I say this a lot but seriously I’m working on it!)

  5. Well, yeah…uhm….I only have read book one of the HP books. Don’t look at me like that! I have watched the movies. Yay! Anyway, I have challenged myself to read all HP books before 2013 starts. So, there’s still time..and hope.. :) Great list!

  6. I love this list because I totally agree!! And I’ve only got three more on this list that I haven’t read yet. Yay!

  7. Melissa says:

    I keep seeing The Fault in Our Stars everywhere. Guess I need to pick it up already, huh? ;)

  8. Oh, I do agree with your choices! Shades Children was the first book I read post-Potter and it relieved my sadness quite a bit.
    Do share, what is nerdfighteria?

  9. Great picks. I love Rowling’s Harry Potter series and am excited to read her new book when it comes out in September. Divergent & The Hunger Games series were awesome as well. I’ll have to check out some of the other books you mentioned.

  10. It’s surprising how many of the books on your list I’ve read already! I think I’ll have to check out the ones I haven’t read. Your comparison of Warner and Draco made me laugh, but it’s so true!

  11. Nina K Pettis says:

    The Young Wizards series is listed first for a reason: They’re young, they’re wizards, and they’re smart and funny. There are also feline wizards, just so you know (and because we always suspected as much, didn’t we?).

  12. These are great recommends for PotterLovers. Great list!

  13. Briana says:

    I definitely tried to sell my friends on Divergent by telling them it reminded me of Harry Potter! (I also see great marketing opportunities with the factions.)

Leave a Reply

