Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 2×12

This is a twice a week feature (Wednesdays and Fridays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Fear Her by Matthew Graham

The Doctor and Rose travel forward in time to the year 2012 where the summer Olympics are just about to begin. But someone is snatching children off of an ordinary street, and now it’s up to Rose and the Doctor to figure out why before they get snatched themselves!

 

This is another one of those kind of filler episodes where I don’t really have THAT MUCH to say about it. You get to see more of how comfortable Rose has become with travelling and how comfortable Rose and the Doctor have become with each other. And honestly, as much as I love them together, you can only watch the cutesy moments so many times. I can understand why the events of the next two episodes had to happen, but more on that next week.

I don’t have anything deep to say about this episode. I found it funny that for someone who always warns people not to wander off, the Doctor does a lot of wandering off. I liked that Rose took initiative. The “villain” of this episode reminded me a lot of Ann and Alan from the second season of Sailor Moon. The Doctor doing the Spock symbol makes me think that after The Empty Child he went off and looked up Star Trek. Seriously, these are the places my mind goes.

imageMy favourite moment was when they were in the TARDIS and the Doctor casually mentions that he was once a father. Rose keeps forgetting that the Doctor has this whole other life before her. Also, it was a bit like the Doctor was opening up to her. Or maybe he just can’t keep track of what he’s told her and what he hasn’t.

Favourite Quotes

“I’m being facetious, aren’t I? There’s no call for that.” – the Doctor

“Look at the hairs on the back of my manly, hairy hand.” – the Doctor

“They keep on trying to split us up, but they never, ever will.” – Rose

Oh, Rose… you just had to say it, didn’t you…

Next week is going to HURT.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 2×12

  1. So so nervous for next week. Kleenex are at the ready.

  2. Samantha says:

    Lol, is it weird that in the last few days (seeing as how the 2012 London Olympics are about to start) I keep thinking well the Doctor and Rose are going to pop up in London soon. I should hop on a plane and go find them. ^_^ This is how my brain works.

Leave a Reply

