[review] Brave (2012)

imageI’ve been longing to see Brave since we first started hearing about it, so I was there opening weekend all ready to be amazed. Having grown up on the princess movies, I have a special place in my heart for princess tales, but having, well, actually grown up, I have an intense longing to see strong female characters who don’t just wish for the one they love to find them. Brave did not disappoint me.

As much as I loved the setting (woot! woot! Scotland!) and having a kick-ass female protagonist, it was the story of the relationship between Merrida and her mother that really tickled my fancy. Mothers in Disney don’t generally live long, so to have a mother that was not only alive but was a part of the story and a foil for her daughter was TOTALLY AWESOME. It was like getting to see all these different aspects of women. Young women. Old women. Mothers. Daughters. Athletic women. Regal women. And when you get down to the very centre of the story it’s about how women can be many things. We can be strong and soft. We can participate in active things and also passive activities. We can get married or we can not.

image

For me, this movie was completely inspirational, and I love that young girls are growing up with Merida and her mother as role models. And to those who thought this movie had no good role models… Well, you can kiss my one quarter Scottish dock.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in movie review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to [review] Brave (2012)

  1. Elizabeth R says:

    I love the relationship between Merrida and her mother. What I loved about the story is Merrida’s choice not to get married for the sake of marrying and to please the tribes. But that she would marry when the time is right for her. Something that girls don’t get to see in many of these Princess movies. There was no ride off into the sunset Happily Ever After but a happy ending.

    • megtao says:

      Yes, this. I mean, even Tangled ended in a marriage if not a wedding. It was nice to see that a happy ending doesn’t mean immediate marriage or prince/princess love or whatever. I’m not making sense, but hopefully you get what I’m saying.

  2. Candice says:

    Love the themes in this movie that girls are getting exposed to! I can’t wait to check it out!

  3. I love Brave! And I loved the relationship between Merida and her mom too, and I think that was one of my favorite things about the movie.

  4. I haven’t seen this movie yet, but it sounds fantastic. I love a good Disney film. Plus, it highlights female relationships? Now that’s awesome.

  5. aimee says:

    Your review just made me realize that other than Tangled, Brave is the first Disney movie to really FEATURE a This is kind of awesome. And another reason to love the film even more than I already do.

    YOUR PARAGRAPH ABOUT THE DIFFERENT ASPECTS OF WOMEN IS PERFECT. Because we’re complicated and people need to stop thinking every female character is the same.

    ……There are people who think this movie has no good role models? What? Did we watch the same film?

    (I HAD NO IDEA YOU WERE ONE QUARTER SCOTTISH. THAT IS SO COOL.)

    • aimee says:

      (It totally said “really FEATURE a mother.” but okay, wordpress, please continue cutting off my sentences. T___T )

    • megtao says:

      And in Tangled the “mother” was evil while the birth mother was hardly featured XD

      And yeah, I’ve been reading a ton of reviews saying that Brave was a downgrade for Pixar and there were no good role models blah blah blah

  6. Krysta says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this film! I’ve seen reviewers who were disappointed because they felt Merida did not defy expectations enough (by which they mean, I suppose, that she ought to have thrown out the idea of marriage altogether). I liked, however, that they showed that women can be strong in so many different ways. Some women may not want to get married, but some women do. And neither choice is wrong. Merida doesn’t have to declare complete independence from men to be a strong role model. My favorite part was seeing qualities valued by her and qualities valued by her mother come together at the end to form a solution. Merida, after all, doesn’t have to be right about absolutely everything to be inspirational. I mean, she’s rather young to be right about everything, isn’t she? :D Great review!

    • megtao says:

      Merida doesn’t have to declare complete independence from men to be a strong role model.
      Yeah, I mean, men are part of the world. There is no getting around this. I don’t think hating men is the answer to being a strong woman. I think Merdia’s relationship with her father, while it doesn’t take the forefront of the movie, shows the importance of relationships with both sexes. And I liked her parents relationship because it’s obviously built on respect, which I think is the MOST IMPORTANT thing in a relationship.

  7. In addition to having great females characters I was extremely pleased that there was no romance in this movie. Sure romance has it’s time and place but I thought Brave was fabulous because it was so focused on Merida and that doesn’t happen enough in Disney movies.

    I loved this movie so much! Can not wait til it’s on DVD so I can buy it and watch it again and again and again.

    • megtao says:

      I’ve still seen people shipping characters though and it’s like XD XD XD XD can’t escape it. Ever. Even I felt the twinges of shipping starting, but I killed it with fire.

  8. Samantha says:

    I can’t wait to see this. I’m hoping I’ll be able to see it at some point this week. I don’t want to wait any longer for it.

Leave a Reply

