[review] The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson has always had a hard time at school and has been kicked out of a few of them, but while on a class trip to a museum he has a new bad school experience: he’s attacked by his teacher who turns into a monster. Turns out Percy is a half-blood, son of an Olympian God, and he’s right in the middle of a war that’s shaping up to be worst than World War II.

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)I’ve been meaning to read this series for some time because of all the hype. While it didn’t necessarily blow me out of the water, I did find it pleasantly humorous with some nice morals for younger readers.

I listened to the audiobook, and it certainly enhanced the enjoyment of my drives. There were times I didn’t want to get out of the car because I wanted to keep listening. The narrator did a good job with the voices and timing of jokes. I especially liked his voice for Annabeth as I find that many male narrators have difficulty making feminine voices without sounding like their being mocking.

I really liked the fact that Percy (and the other half-bloods) all have dyslexia and often struggle with school. I think it shows that the “bad kid” or the kid that struggles isn’t a dumb kid and in fact can be really awesome. Also, the fact that Annabeth is such a brainiac even with dyslexia shows that you can overcome your disabilities and that knowledge can be cool!

If there is one thing that I was disappointed with, it would be myself. I’d watched the movie version of the book before reading and it ruined a lot of possible twists for me. You can bet I will avoid making that mistake again!

Books with similar aspects

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

Mister Monday by Garth Nix

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

recommended to the young and the young at heart looking for a fun adventure with plenty of humour

not recommended to older readers looking for more complex stories

Don’t just take my word for it!

“I had a lot of fun with The Lightning Thief.” – Christa @ Hooked on Books

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to [review] The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

  1. Ohh, I am glad to hear the audiobook of The Lightning Thief is good. I have copies of the series in physical form and only read up to the second book. Methinks i’ll have to re-read and get to the entire series.

    Also? Isn’t Percy freakin’ awesome? I love that Camp Halfblood shows that kids with dyslexia and ADHD are valued too. :-D

  2. Samantha says:

    I’ve just started reading this, and I’m enjoying it as well. :) Although I too have already watched the movie (a couple of times actually), but it’s not making me enjoy the book any less despite already knowing the twists.

    • megtao says:

      I have a thing against spoilers, even when I spoil myself. The first reading experience for me has to be a certain way or something is missing for me.

  3. This is one of my favorite series EVER. I absolutely adore it, and I reread it as often as possible.

  4. I had literally finished reading this book 15 mintues before leaving to go see the movie. THAT was a mistake. It made me hate the movie. A year later I caught the movie on TV and went, huh, this isn’t as bad as I remember. Finding the sweet spot with books and movies is really hard. A movie can be an excellent movie and a terrible adaptation. Or vice versa (yes, there are books where the movie is better).

    • megtao says:

      Yeah, I avoid rereading the books of movie adaptation within a couple months to a year before me seeing the movie because I know if the book is too fresh in my mind I will find way too many issues with the movie.

      And I agree with everything you said here.

  5. Such a fabulous audiobook! I love this whole series on audio and the characters are some of my favourites.

Leave a Reply

