Recommend a… book published in 2010

This is a new meme hosted by Chick Loves Lit that caught my eye. Basically, every Monday there’s a new prompt which you use to recommend an awesome book. There’s not much I love more than recommending a good book, except maybe having a good book recommended to me!

This week’s prompt is to recommend a book published in 2010, which is a super BROAD topic and totally has me panicking. I mean, A LOT of books get published in a year and OF COURSE I rec’d Anna and the French Kiss last week (published in 2010). But then I was saved by goodreads which informed me that Heist Society by Ally Carter was published in 2010. SCORE!

Heist Society (Heist Society, #1)Heist Society follows Katarina Bishop, daughter of an international thief. Having been part of the thief life since she was seven, Katarina wants out and a chance to live a normal life. All that is ruined when her father is accused by a mobster of stealing his priceless collection of paintings (that he acquired illegally in the first place). The only way for Katarina to save her father and everyone she loves is to steal them back, but first they have to find them.

I can’t find the words to explain how amazing this book is. I read and loved Ally Carter’s Gallagher Girls series, and this has much of the same kind of humour, but Katarina seems a little older and a little wiser than the girls of Gallagher Academy. Her voice is strong and true; this girl knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to go for it! But, she still has her moments of doubt and weakness and that’s where Hale comes in.

Hale may very well be one of the hottest guys in young adult fiction. He’s attractive, he’s charming, he’s rich, he’s smart, he’s cultured, AND he is completely loyal. I swoon so hard for Hale, you guys. If you don’t want to read it for the story and the humour, at least read it for Hale because OH MY GOD. (I especially recommend the audiobook.)

What do you look for in your book crushes?

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in recommend a and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Recommend a… book published in 2010

  1. Alwyn says:

    I freakin’ LOVE Heist Society. It is the book that takes credit for returning me to the Arms of YA after an extended break during college (Hey after a History of Art Degree, what better than a book instructing me on alternative ways to use said degree…) Also I totally 100% agree with you about Hale. SO HOT. Love him SO MUCH!

  2. I love, love, love Heist Society! Ally Carter is one of my favorite authors; she’s a plotting genius and all her books are wonderful. And I totally agree about Hale. Who else is desperate to know his name? 🙂

  3. Yep, I loved Heist Society too!! Such an incredible beginning to a great series. 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation!

    Here’s my Recommend A… post!

    Wendy @ Escape Into Fiction

  4. Samantha says:

    HALE. SWOON.

    …that is all. 😉

  5. Mary says:

    I picked this one too!!! Its such a good recommendation, if I do say so myself… 🙂

  6. Candice says:

    Heist Society is where it’s at! I love love love this series so much! Although if there’s ever an opportunity to have book characters come to life (and be the same age as me) I’m totally snagging Hale before you can say Bob’s your uncle. 🙂

  7. Elisquared says:

    Heist Society kicks ass! Not enough people have read this book, but it is fantastic! I love the planning of the thefts, and the crew aspect, and how it’s always for a good cause (at least it is now). Really great and I can’t wait to read Perfect Scoundrels!

  8. I have yet to read Heist Society, but I’ve always been intrigued by it. It sounds like so much fun, and now that you mention a swoon-worthy love interest… well, I MUST check it out!

  9. megan says:

    LOVE Heist Society! Can’t wait for Perfect Scoundrels!

  10. Amanda says:

    This book sounds fun. I’ve never read anything by Ally Carter, but she’s definitely someone I need to read at least one thing by. I’ll keep this one in mind as a possibility, unless you have any recommendations for the best book to act as an introduction to her works.

    • megtao says:

      I started with her Gallagher Girls series, and I found the movement from that series to this series was fine. Dunno what would happen if you read Heist first and then the Gallagher Girls.

  11. THIEVES!! Love them! Heist Society is so fun. The only thing I’m waiting for is a little more swoony action with Kat and Hale. The third book sounds like it’s going to be UNREAL levels of awesome.

  12. aimee says:

    Haleeeeeeeeeeee. (I’ve actually only read Heist from the library once, but Uncommon Criminals has been sitting my bookshelf for about a year, so I finally bought Heist Society to reread, just so I can appreciate Hale twice before Heist 3 is out.)

    I was going to recommend this one too, but I figured a ton of people would (because it’s so awesome).

  13. Adriana C says:

    I haven´t read it, yet but I have it in my TBR for a while.
    thanks for sharing.
    Here is My Recommend A..

  14. Jennifer A says:

    Oh, I haven’t read anything by Ally Carter! Thanks for the recommendation!

  15. This is a really cool weekly meme. I’ve never read any of Ally Carter’s books, but I’ve heard of this one, and I didn’t know if it was any good. I see now that it is! Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

