Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 3×4

This is a twice a week feature (Wednesdays and Fridays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Daleks in Manhattan by Helen Raynor

The Doctor takes Martha to see the original New York back in 1930 where the masses struggle to stay alive. Meanwhile, the Empire State Building is under construction by some old enemies of the Doctor.

 

As far as season three episodes go, I’m not a huge fan of this one. I mean, it’s not a bad episode, but there was nothing in it that really blew me away, and I didn’t really see the point of it being two parts. This upsets me because as far as I know this is the first episode of new Who written by a woman, which, you know, is kind of sucky. Are there no woman writers in Britain? Really? None at all?

Anyway, I didn’t write much about this episode because I really didn’t care for it. I did, however, love the characters of Tullulah and Frank. Tullulah, pictured above, is awesome. She’s street smart and brave. She sees the world for what it really is, and instead of running away screaming, she does what she needs to in order to stay alive. The Slytherdor in me is hiss-roaring with pride.

Frank, who you might recognize as Andrew Garfield from the new Spider-Man movie, is freaking adorable. He’s the best of the Southern stereotypes (Tennessee is one of the Southern states, right?). Loyal and super sweet, his first instinct is to protect Martha (even when he’s the one who needs protecting). The way he hugs her when she finds him makes my heart do all sorts of things. I think HE should have become a companion. Rose got Adam and Jack; why shouldn’t Martha get a cute tagalong of her own?

Favourite Quotes

“How can they do that [build the Empire State Building] when we have people starving in the heart of Manhattan.” – Solomon

“They survive. They always survive, while I lose everything.” – the Doctor (this is the first time I really caught the significance of this quote and ALL THE TEARS)

“Yeah well you can kiss me later. You too Frank, if you want.” – the Doctor (awww methinks the Doctor has a bit of a crush on Frank ^_^)

Final Notes

-the King Solomon reference was really well done. Totally missed it on my first watch. I love you Doctor Who.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 3×4

  1. Tamara says:

    Three Ls and an H.

    I didn’t like this ep the first watch, but my recent rewatch had me appreciate it a bit more.

  2. I also thought this episode was kind of “meh” but loved the characters. Especially Tallulah!

  3. L. Palmer says:

    I remember this episode being a better one from a dreary season. Martha was always a less-fun character. It’s also amazing to know that’s Andrew Garfield.

    • megtao says:

      Really? I love this season, but these episodes are some of the weakest for me. It’s funny how different opinions can be. I also think Martha could have been a fun character, but she was kind of poorly written at times, which sucks.

Leave a Reply

