[review] Bumped by Megan McCafferty

Twins Melody and Harmony are more different than their names suggest. Harmony was raised by the church who believes a woman should have as many children with her husband as possible before the Virus leaves her infertile. Melody was raised by well-to-do parents who believe girls should save themselves so that they can sell their planned bumped babies to the highest bidder. When Harmony leaves the church to try to save Melody’s eternal soul before she bumps with the sexiest man in the baby making biz, they discover just how different they are–and how much alike.

Bumped (Bumped, #1)The beginning of this book is slow, and the middle and end aren’t much better pacing wise, but this book about female experience in a world that is at the same time very different and identical to our own is a must-read for all girls, and I don’t think it would hurt the politicians of our world to pick it up either.

More than the characters or their emotional journey, what I enjoyed the most about this story and found to be the most important were the themes it discussed. Shocker, I know. This book tackles some of the big issues: women and their bodies, women and the church, and women in the media. I wouldn’t be surprised if you found this novel on the banned book list because it makes a very honest and therefore a very disturbing commentary on our society.

We may not live in a society that sells fake baby bumps to twelve-year-olds because they’ve been brainwashed into thinking that being pregnant is the sexy, but we do live in a society that bombards people with images that change their perspectives of what’s hot and what’s not. (Note that I’m not saying that pregnancy isn’t sexy. I am sure there are many people who find pregnancy sexy. A twelve year old in modern society being pregnant, however, is repulsive to me as it should be to you.)

This book is also all about the control of women’s bodies and, which, unfortunately, has been a hot topic for decades. I can’t help but think that if the politicians of our world read Bumped and other YA novels, they’d have a more realistic and balanced outlook on the world, and maybe our society wouldn’t be quite so screwed up.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Megan McCafferty exceeds in world building.” – Katya

“The satire in Bumped is brilliant. Hell, I might as well just come out and say Megan McCafferty is brilliant.” – April @ Good Books and Good Wine

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [review] Bumped by Megan McCafferty

  1. Brittany says:

    I’ve been looking at this one for a while but still haven’t gotten to it! Even though it’s slow paced, still sounds pretty interesting. Thanks for the review!

  2. I really love this type of story when it’s done well (Like The Handmaid’s Tale and the Testament of Jessie Lamb) but I was always a little sceptical of this novel. I’m glad to hear it’s a good read and I trust your judgement so I will definitely pick it up one of these days.

    • megtao says:

      I haven’t heard of the Testament of Jessie Lamb. It’s well done you say?

      This book isn’t as good as the Handmaiden’s Tale, but it is a YA version of the story where the woman are in an invisible cage instead of a literal one.

Leave a Reply

