Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×9

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Forest of the Dead by Steven Moffat

As their small group dwindles, the Doctor is running out of time as the sun goes down and with it any hope of escape. Meanwhile, Donna finds herself integrated into a perfect world with a dark secret.

image

I was so angry after watching this episode that I waited a full twelve hours to post my review, but looking over my notes I wrote I’m still feeling very angry because that is what Moffat does: he plays with your emotions. And that’s fine. Good even. But what’s not fine is when HOW he plays with your emotions is ridiculous. Today’s review comes to you in two parts: 1. REALLY MOFFAT? and 2. THAT DOESN’T MAKE ANY SENSE!

REALLY MOFFAT?

  • Happily ever after for a woman is still being a wife and mother. Of course.
  • Yupp, because when a woman finds out she lives in a fake world her first reaction is going to be about dieting. Right.

  • Now that she’s ugly, she can be smart. Because beautiful women are always dumb and smart women are always ugly.
  • Yes, let’s take away the kids and then have no future repercussions for the mental stability of the character. Hm. Where have I seen this before?
  • River gets kids too! THREE OF THEM! She must really be happy now!

That doesn’t make any sense!

  • People say “saved” all the time in this kind of situation. Really. No, really. They do.
  • Why is everyone wearing the same clothes?!
  • WHY DIDN’T HE JUST STEP OFF OF THE TELEPORT. HIS VOICE MIGHT NOT WORK BUT SURELY HIS LEGS DO.
  • So why can’t their bodies be remade? How hard would it be to create data after you’ve had all those examples. And last I checked River’s body wasn’t eaten.
  • Now all of a sudden everyone is best friends? Yeah. That makes sense.

Spoiler: It makes no sense.

So…yeah. I couldn’t focus on the bamness of the River/Doctor relationship because I was so busy being angry at everything. I still managed to tear up during River’s death which is more painful than ever, but when she ends up in CAL that goes away because…ugh so ridiculous.

My favourite part of the episode is Anita’s reaction to being about to die. Someone tells her to calm down, and she calls them out on it. Women are often described as being innately hysterical or emotional. Her claim that her emotions are valid and in fact calm considering the situation made me the happiest I was all episode.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×9

  1. I totally missed all the stuff that angered you but now that you point it out I see it. I think since it was the first time I was watching the episode I was so caught up in Doctor-River my mind blanketed over everything else.

Leave a Reply

