[review] Parrotfish by Ellen Wittlinger

Transcript

Hey everyone this is Meghan from Coffee & Wizards. Today I am here to talk about Parrotfish by Ellen Wittlinger. I read Parrotfish directly after reading Eon, which I talked about in my previous review, and I think this was an excellent follow through because Parrotfish is about a young man named Grady who originally was a young girl named Angela. The story begins with him just beginning to come out to his parents and his family and his friends, and it just goes through his journey, having to deal with issues that a transgendered teenager would have to deal with when first coming out.

I heard about Parrotfish from Christa at Hooked on Books: I’ll leave a link to her blog down below; I love Christa. I’d heard that it was a really good book, and I was not disappointed. I loved the character of Grady, and I loved reading about his story, and there was a lot of great secondary characters. I just loved everything about this book.

I read a lot of action and adventure, dystopian, fantasy novels; I’m not a big contemporary novel reader, but as far as contemporary novels go, like, I would say that this is a must read. I feel like readers stick to their own genres, and they stick to characters that are like themselves. Even though I’m not transgendered personally, I feel like I was still really able to connect with Grady because a lot of the problems that he goes through are the same sorts of things that everyone goes through. Everyone goes through moments of uncertainty. Everyone wonders who exactly they are. Everyone has to deal with judgement from family and friends. Everyone has been bullied at some point in their life, so I think it’s a story that you can relate to even if you look at it and you’re like, “Oh, well I’m not transgendered, so I’m gonna to be able to relate to this book. I won’t enjoy this book.” You will. You just need to give it a chance, and, like, just read it.

It was a really funny book. It was just a really honest book. The author herself is not transgendered, but she spoke a lot with a transgendered person.

So yeah, that’s my recommendation for that. I would say you definitely should read it.

If you have read Parrotfish or any of Ellen Wittlinger’s other books, I would love to hear about them. Let me know what your favourites are. Let me know if there is any other books with transgendered protagonists in them or even secondary characters who play large roles. I would really like to hear about them. I would like to explore this genre a bit more because I think it’s something that’s really important to read about. All of my contact info is down below. If you enjoyed this, don’t forget to subscribe, so you can hear more about my book ramblings. And until next time, everyone, thanks.

Check out this interview with the author over at Christa’s blog Hooked on Books!

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

