[Top Ten Tuesday] Deserted Island Reads

Top Ten Book to Read on a Deserted Island

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Clarissa, or the History of a Young Lady 10. Clarissa by Samuel Richardson

As one of the longest novels ever written, I figure it would keep me entertained for awhile, and if nothing else I would have a fire starter for awhile…

9. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Because there have got to be some survival tips in there…

8. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Because I can’t imagine never being able to read it again.

The Casual Vacancy7. The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling

Because I already started it and I need to finish it.

6. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Because I promised myself that I would read it, so read it I will.

5. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Prince Kai. A great story. Reminder of friends.

Anna and the French Kiss4. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Because who better to keep me company than St. Clair? But really, this book also would help connect me to memories of family and friends.

3. Japanese-English dictionary

Because I have some time on my hands, so I might as well learn another language…

2. some sort of “how to survive for dummies” book

Because… otherwise I would die.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)1. Harry Potter and the Philsopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

I specifically would want my copy so that I would not only have the story it holds, but the memories that come attached with it. This is the book that would give me the hope to carry on.

What about you? What is your must have book?

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesday] Deserted Island Reads

  1. Brittany says:

    Love Anna and the French Kiss! I put Harry Potter on my list too. Great choices! I didn’t even think about a survival book haha. Guess I’m not coming off that island alive!

  2. hmmm I wonder why you chose Japanese as your language to learn 😉

  3. bookgoonie says:

    Perkins has a real island following.

  4. Kat says:

    Love your list! Clarissa is an extrrrremely long book, but I might end up using it to kindle a fire, too– we read excerpts in one of my English classes, and it is fairly boring.

    To Kill A Mockingbird is a good one, also Pride and Prejudice and Anna. Yours is probably the most practical list I’ve seen– Being a Castaway for Dummies is probably a more sensible choice than War and Peace, in the long run. 🙂 New follower via email.

  5. Samuel Richardson! I’ve actually never read Clarissa, but I read Pamela for a class. I’d vote that you take that one instead. It’s just so ridiculous and absurd but also very entertaining. I agree with you on Pride and Prejudice. And having a specific copy for memories like Harry Potter is a great idea!

  6. I chose Anna and the French Kiss as well. Awesome list!

  7. Anya says:

    Haha, I like the practical books!

    I’m a new follower 😀 Here is my TTT

Leave a Reply

