[review] The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Transcript

Hey everyone this is Meghan from Coffee & Wizards. Today I’m here to talk about this book: The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. The Name of the Wind is a fantasy novel. I would say it’s probably categorized in the adult section, but I wouldn’t say that it’s necessarily an adult novel. The protagonist is not even thirty, but the book is him telling his own story and how he got to be the person that he is and the legend that he is, so the protagonist is actually, like, twelve to maybe sixteen throughout the story that’s being told. Going off of the protagonist’s age I would say this is more of a young adult novel, but I can definitely see where the adult comes in. There’s something about the writing style that just screams adult.

I was recommended this book by Amy at Tripping Over Books. I tend to trust her judgement because we read a lot of the same things. She loves this book, and when I first started reading this book I couldn’t really understand why. The more I read it the more I really became impressed with what a solidly written book it is. The entire thing is just gorgeous prose, and I love the voice of the narrator.

Voice is something that I think is often overlooked in a novel. You often hear writers talking about how their characters speak through them, but in this case it felt more like the character was doing all of the talking for himself. It honestly felt like I was hearing a story being told to me by the character, and I thought that was just really, really well done.

It draws you into the world of the character. You get to see a nice contrast between truth and legend. The protagonist is a legend, so you get to see how this legend has shaped the world and how others see him, but you also get to hear the true story of what actually happened and how those legends were created. And it’s really nice getting to see the contrast, and you get to feel a bit like an insider, I guess. You get to see the dramatic irony.

I would really recommend this to fantasy fans, especially fantasy fans that are maybe tired of the usual fantasy genre. I found that The Name of the Wind had its own quirks to it, and in fact seemed to make fun of the fantasy genre a lot. It was nice getting to see some of the stereotypes twisted around and made fun of.

So thank you for listening. If you’d like to hear more about my video blog book reviews, don’t forget to subscribe. If you’ve read The Name of the Wind, let me know what you thought about it. If you haven’t read the Name of the Wind, let me know if you’re planning on reading thanks to this. Contact info down below. And I’ll see you guys soon, bye.

Don’t just take my word for it!

“I loved that this book wasn’t predictable. I couldn’t guess the ending.” – April @ Good Books and Good Wine

“I would easily recommend this to anyone who enjoys fantasy, but also to people who enjoy great stories told wonderfully well.” – Shannon @ Giraffe Days

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [review] The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

  1. I like your point about how it seemed to make fun of fantasy genre tropes, there was definitely a bit of that going on, in that way of embracing and mocking at the same time that doesn’t piss fans off.

    I’ve never really understood why people label adult books as YA just because of the protagonists age? Lots and lots of adult books have children and teen protagonists, but it doesn’t automatically make them YA books. You’re not likely to see a children’s or teen book with only adult protagonists/characters, but that’s not the defining characteristic, yeah. This book was definitely written for adults, but teen readers aren’t excluded because of where it’s shelved. Fantasy is ageless!! Which I think is what you’re saying here… 😀

    Here’s my review!

    • megtao says:

      I honestly don’t understand the difference between adult and YA books, especially in the fantasy and sci-fi genre. The line gets so blurred. I feel like a lot of “adult” books could be classified as “YA” but they say they’re adult to seem more…well, adult.

      • Yeah I don’t think there’s an age thing to Fantasy, and I know in Australia bookshops will shelve YA fantasy in the adult section as well, and often vice versa. But I read recently that The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time had been grouped in with YA in some list, for example, and things like that strike me as odd. It’s not that, by shelving books with adult fiction, younger readers aren’t allowed to read them. But the YA label, it’s like any marketing label, it comes with certain … expectations? Parameters? Standards?

        I don’t understand why Watership Down is considered a children’s book. I read it as an adult and it seemed so … sophisticated, I don’t know that I would have enjoyed it as a child. Yet lots of children read it. Same with The Neverending Story, they’re both such mature, complex reads. *shrug* How much of it is just marketing, anyway? I mean, these categories are all manufactured aren’t they. I think it’s just that I get so anal when it comes to books – I’m such a closet librarian!

    • megtao says:

      Yeah I think it’s all just marketing really, and ahhh I just saw your link to your review now XD fail fail fail. Adding it in a sec.

  2. I’m so glad you read and enjoyed this one, Meghan. Because I completely agree with you about the voice. It really was remarkable, I thought, how it felt almost nothing like I was reading a completely made-up story but rather a history of a real person instead. The world-building and the writing are so great in this book. I’m curious what you’d think about #2, whenever you get a chance/the inclination to read it. And thanks for the shout-out!! ❤

    • megtao says:

      I started listening to the audiobook in September and am still going. It’s like 48 hours long or something ridiculous like that XD XD I’m enjoying it though.

      Thank YOU for the rec!

  3. This sounds like a perfect book for me and Patrick Rothfuss was just in Toronto! Kind of kicking myself for not checking his signing out. Thanks for a great recommendation

Leave a Reply

