[review] Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

Transcript

Hey everyone, this is Meghan from Coffee & Wizards. Today I am here to talk about this book: Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty. Sloppy Firsts is the first book in the Jessica Darling series, which I have heard A LOT about. Two of my best friends, Angel from Mermaid Visions and Aimee from Penmanship Smitten, I’ll leave links for their blogs down below, have been telling me how awesome this book is forever and crying about how awesome Marcus Flutie is. I couldn’t help but feel…disappointed.

Not because it’s not a good book. Honestly, if I had gone into it without the whole Marcus expectations, I would’ve LOVED this book. The main character, Jessica Darling, freaking awesome. She reminds me a lot of Ruby Oliver except a little bit more bad ass… kind of. She’s a lot more blunt when it comes to some things.

This is not a book I would recommend for younger readers just because there were just some mature elements I really wasn’t expecting. I was expecting a light kind of contemporary romance, and that isn’t what I got. Kudos, Megan McCafferty! I don’t know why I wasn’t expecting it. I loved Bumped and Thumped, so I don’t know why I wasn’t expecting the same sort of stuff in here.

It’s really well-written. There’s a lot of intelligent dialogues that take place, and I don’t mean dialogue in the normal sense like a conversation between two characters, I mean dialogue between the narrator and the reader that is going on. It’s funny and it’s smart, and that’s the kind of book I love. Like I said before, I was disappointed, but that’s because my expectations were so super duper high because everyone was telling me how much I was going to love Marcus Flutie, and the thing is… I didn’t love Marcus Flutie. In fact, I the opposite of love Marcus Flutie.

Apparently, it gets better in the second book? Apparently I will start to, like, magically fall in love with him by Second Helpings, so hopefully that happens. But right now, I can’t help but think… Marcus Flutie, just not for me. I’m gonna try and withhold full judgement until I’ve at least read Second Helping, but for right now I’m on Team Jessica.

Thank you for listening. If you enjoyed this review, don’t forget to subscribe. If you’ve read the Jessica Darling series, I would love to hear your thoughts about it down below. I would like to know when you fell in love with this series, if you found you were disappointed by Sloppy Firsts at all, or if you thought Sloppy Firsts amazing. You can also find my contact information down below. And until next time, guys, thanks!

Don’t just take my word for it!

“Megan McCafferty delighted me with the poignant moments.” – Jen @ Almost Grown-Up

“I loved it.” – April @ Good Books and Good Wine

Did I miss your review? Link me and I’ll add yours! Add me on goodreads (be sure to let me know in the comments that you’ve added me) to have your reviews linked automatically.
About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [review] Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

  1. This is amusing me because from what I remember, it took you not until Second Helpings, but… Perfect Fifths (?) to finally love Marcus Flutie. XDD (But ahhh, sorry for affecting your experience of the first book with Marcus expectations. He’s just one of the things I remember loving most about this series, especially in Second Helpings and Perfect Fifths, and even during the parts of the series that drove me a little insane (Charmed Thirds, Fourth Comings, I still looked forward to the Marcus.) But yayyyy, you’ve finally read these books! 😀

  2. Tara says:

    I liked Marcus Flutie more as the series went on, and liked Jessica less (though I haven’t read the last book). He does get better, but he’ll never be my favorite love interest in YA lit.

Leave a Reply

