[Top Ten Tuesdays] Thanks, Books!

Top Ten Book For Which I’m Thankful

hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

10. Wicked by Gregory Maguire

image

This book was the inspiration for one of my all-time favourite musicals. (Honestly, I could throw Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables up here too, but Wicked is the only one of the group I’ve actually read.) The music is wonderful and always hits me square in the emotions. “Defying Gravity” has got me through some rough times, so I’m thankful for it.

9. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

In a similar vein, thanks to this book we now have the gorgeous animated movie by the incomparable Hayao Miyazaki. The book is great, but the movie brings the story to life. I cannot begin to explain my love for Howl.

8. The Baby-Sitter’s Club by Ann M. Martin

I don’t know which book did it, but this is the series that I first remember reading. I am thankful I had this series to encourage me to enjoy reading. Imagine if my first experience with books had been bad! My life would be so different…

7. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

This was the first “Canadian fiction” I remember reading and really loving. As much as I feel I’m just as influenced by American culture, it’s nice to have something that I can look to as part of my own culture. It’s nice to have a Canadian role model.

A Room of One's Own 6. A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf

I truly feel like Woolf did a lot for women writers. Reading this book, I feel like it’s barely dated, which is actually really scary. More people should read it.

5. Looking for Alaska by John Green

If John had not published this book, I wonder if nerdfighteria would be as it is today. I feel as if his writing and nerdfighteria are very much linked, and I am so thankful for the nerdfighter community. As much as I’m not involved in it as much as I could be, it is an awesome group.

Beauty Queens4. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

I had to cut so much out of my review of this book simply because it meant SO MUCH to me. I got teary eyed while filming the review because it made me feel understood and that can be a rare feeling. I will never be able to express how much it means to me.

3. The Disreputable History of Frankie-Landau Banks by E. Lockhart

This was the first feminist book I read, and it made me realize that I’m not alone in my feelings. It showed me that it’s okay to want different things than what is expected of you. It showed me that sometimes that means giving up other things, but that in the end its worth it.

2. Bishojo Senshi Sailor Moon, Vol 1 by Naoko Takeuchi

I could write an entire post on what Sailor Moon has done for me, but in short it is thanks to it that I have my onee-chans, and they mean the world to me.

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Always.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in top ten tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to [Top Ten Tuesdays] Thanks, Books!

  1. Lola says:

    Yes! To Howl’s Moving Castle! I had TB-SC on my list as well! Libba Bray and John Green are making a lot of lists today…I need to read both of them! Awesome list overall! 🙂

  2. Brittany says:

    I didn’t care for the actual book Wicked so I can just be thankful for the AWESOME musical? 🙂
    HP forever ❤ and yes to the BSC! Man, I loved those books.

  3. I had the same experience with Margaret Atwood. Although it was with Alias Grace. I remember devouring the book three times in the year I received it and then setting out to absorb as much CanLit as I could. It was when I first realized our country had some amazing works to add to the literary playing field.

    I’m with you for every other book/author on this list as well. Great choices.

    Always.

  4. Oh, Harry Potter for always.

    And Sailor Moon too, that series influenced me SO much.

  5. Love that last pic! I’m definitely thankful for J.K. Rowling. She wrote one of the most amazing series ever!

    My TTT / 200 Followers Giveaway

  6. TrishaDM says:

    Wicked is a great book! I read it after hearing some music from the musical sound track. I love the whole prequel notion. And it is well written too!
    Great list!

  7. I love the musical Wicked, but I wasn’t that big a fan of the book. I am glad the musical’s story deviates so much from the original book, to be honest. I really need to read The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks at some point. And yes! Harry Potter and J.K. Rowling for sure!

  8. Candice says:

    I really loved Wicked – both the book and the musical (although the musical much, much more!) And although I’m not sure HOW I am thankful for Sailor Moon, I feel like it was this huge presence in my life as a teen – like waking up at 4:30 before school every morning to watch it on TV. And obviously BSC! How could ANYONE not love these series?! Great list!

  9. Julianne says:

    I put Virginia Woolf on my list too! And I love E. Lockhart! I haven’t read Beauty Queens yet but it’s on my Xmas list. Have to check out the rest of your blog now, we obviously have much in common 🙂

  10. I love how much you love Frankie Landau-Banks. Because I loved it too, but I know a couple of friends of mine really kind of hated it and that is totally understandable (people are obviously going to dislike books that other people like), but it bummed me out. I saw the things in it that you did, and I was hoping they would see them, too. Alas.
    I need to read more John Green. Seriously. I can’t tell you how long I’ve been meaning to read his stuff and haven’t yet. And Harry. I wouldn’t be surprised if he/J.K. Rowling was on basically everyone’s lists for this one. Isn’t that the most AWESOME thing ever? How that one series changed the way SO MANY people read?

    • megtao says:

      Usually when I hear why people hate it, it’s for the same reasons that I love it, so it’s weird because as much as I was upset that she didn’t get the guy, I knew that’s exactly what SHOULD HAPPEN and LOVED that she didn’t get the guy. I’m always happy when I find someone else who loved it because it is one of those books that you either love or hate.

      Honestly, just start watching the vlogbrothers. I love his books, but it’s the nerdfighter community that is the best.

      Harry Potter/JK Rowling gives me feelings ;A;

Leave a Reply

