Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×11

This is a weekly feature (Wednesdays) where Christa of Hooked on Books and myself will be watching and discussing all of the reboot of Doctor Who. Posts will contain spoilers for that episode and ones before it, so you may want to watch the episode before reading. I hope you’ll join us in enjoying this fantastic show, and don’t forget to check out Christa’s post (with past posts over here) as well! Allons-y!

Turn Left by Russell T Davies

When an alien fortune tellers offers to tell her future for free, Donna can’t resist. The fortune teller has ulterior motives, however. As she changes one tiny moment in Donna’s life, the entire world begins to fall apart, and we get to see what would have happened if the Doctor and Donna had never met.

Basically, this episode is a sob fest. I cried when Martha died. I cried when Sarah Jane died. I cried when Torchwood died. (Even without the Doctor…they are fantastic people. Especially Martha who never met him and STILL went out saving the lives of others. I can’t.) I cried when the Colasanto family is taken away. (Seriously, the implications of this and the commentary on British society and our society as a whole is like being hit in the face with a sledgehammer.) This episode is seriously filled with pain and heartbreak, but it’s so awesome!

The acting is beyond fantastic. At that moment where Donna gets fed up with Rose, there’s such a hardness in her eyes that it actually made me shiver. The moment the Doctor realizes that Rose is coming back there’s such hope and fear in his eyes that I want to fall down and curl up in a ball until all the emotions go away.

And my girl Rose was back! Look how clever she’s gotten! She’s always been fantastic, but she’s a new kind of fantastic now. She’s Doctor level fantastic. And this is what I miss about Doctor Who. I really, really do. I miss the companion who can grow and change and become incredible.

I had some complaints about this episode written down, but you know what I don’t even care to mention them at this point. No, I do need to bring them up. I know this fits with her character, but I really hate that Donna originally chose her job so that she could meet a man. Also the “wandering hand” reference that suggests either that Donna had been molested and didn’t report it or that she was going to fake a molestation report as revenge…not cool. So yeah. It doesn’t come close to ruining the episode for me, but I think it’s good to be aware of these things.

About megtao

Student. Writer. Nerdfighter. Fights for love, justice, and awesome.
This entry was posted in tv show review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctor Who Watch-a-Thon 4×11

  1. So happy to see Rose back! And I like that she’s different. It would have been unbelievable (to me anyway) if she had gone through all she had and was still the same person on the other side.

    Oh and the Colasanto family. That both enraged and depressed me. So many tears

Leave a Reply

